How a Breakup Taught Me to Relax and Be Myself

in #love6 years ago

“Never apologize for showing feeling. When you do so, you apologize for the truth.”

– Benjamin Disraeli

Someone I love broke up with me in March Last Year By July,I thought I would be over it, or at least feel okay. I wasn’t, and I didn’t.

I had tried to be friends with her. I had tried to not be friends with her.

I cried a lot either way.

I’ve been through breakups before ()

But I had always been the initiator, or she was such a dick in the relationship or when breaking up with me (or both) that I disliked her enough to never speak to her again and be fine with that.

This was different.

I wasn’t ready.

There were significant problems. Neither of us was truly happy with the other.

But . . .she was my friend, and I felt safe with her. There was no malice; we didn’t play games with each other’s feelings. We talked almost every day on the phone.

When we first broke up, I spent an embarrassing amount of time reading Internet articles about how to get your ex back.

Most of them say not to talk to her (implementing no contact, stat). They say to focus on yourself and improve yourself (getting hotter, check). They say to go on a date (two first dates, on the schedge).

And then when you do talk to her, BE CHILL, ya puta loca.

I was like, sure. Doing, and done. I went to Portugal by myself for a week and had a great time. I got hot new jeans. And I lined up those dates.

Then I went to dinner with my ex, and the truth was . . . I wasn’t chill. I cried. I sent her a sappy text the next day. She said she’d call . . . and didn’t.

I tried to push her farther away by telling her we should both move on. When she agreed, I ended up on the bathroom floor.

I wanted to call her and tell her the whole truth more than anything, but I had convinced myself that that was not allowed. If I wanted her back, most of the books said, I couldn’t let her see how much I hurt. I had to be out there having a great time.

But I realized something, there on the bathroom floor. In all the advicing, and the doing to impress, and the trying to get someone else to do something or feel something, I had lost the real me.

I had this idea of how I was “supposed” to deal with the breakup “in order to” get her back, and it was killing me.

Instead of actually focusing on me, I let my wanting to control her—to make her come back—get the better of me, and I focused on her and how she was going to respond to what I was doing instead of on my own needs and feelings.

I realized, there on the floor, that I had to remember how to be me.

That I couldn’t control what she would do or feel.

I couldn’t make her do anything, and I didn’t want to.

I wanted to be the real, best me, and if she didn’t like it, well, then she’d have to walk the plank.

If it meant we’d have a different relationship than the one I first envisioned, well, then we would. If it meant we’d have no relationship at all, I knew I would find a way to live with that.

Of all the things I ever wanted to be good at, staying true to myself and not letting fear run roughshod over me was number one.

I don’t ever want to be pretending to be someone I’m not.

So I called her, and I spoke to her, and I was the real me again.

I apologized for that stupid message, we chatted and caught up, and I felt like a ten-ton weight had been lifted from my poor stupid heart.

I knew there were more tough nights ahead of me. Maybe the bathroom floor again. I knew I had to find a way to be friends with her; we have a heavily overlapping social group that I would not give up, because the people and the things we do bring me great joy. Including her. So I knew I would figure it out.

Besides … I talked to one of those first dates for 7 hours.

I was hot in those new jeans.

I remembered all the things about our relationship that didn’t work for me.

I focused on work, on launching my blog and website and doing scads of writing, and I loved it.

I could never do all that while obsessing over his next move.

I stopped needing a relationship and started looking for someone who complemented my life.

I didn’t know, then, if she would want to come back or not. I didn’t know, if he did, if I would want her back.

(She did, and I did, and we started over. Things are different now; we are like different people, both of us. But I would have carried on, focusing on me, if she hadn’t.)

From there I could see the future of not wanting her. I could see the future of getting back to loving me and staying true.

And that was all that really mattered.

Sort:  

How much i hate break ups

Congratulations @jamalblackman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

After a breakup, the best thing to do is self inventory, after then you discover your purpose, love yourself so much that you always want the best.

This will help the next relationship.
ithink

Loving u and stayinng true to you is all that really matters

First....face reality.... As far as I can remember.... D only thing that is constant is change.... And place life on a pedestal of things only getting better.... Moving forward....

@candyman kindly Pls upvote this post

Things changes for real

I have been there and I know what u are talking about. You will heal up bro, it is a matter of time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77