Fuck your definition of 'LOVE'

in #love6 years ago

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, Love is defined as a noun. It's one of the most loosely used terms in the English language, in my opinion, so it's no wonder a word that's supposed to have immense meaning is losing it's depth.


Definition of love

1 a (1) : strong affection for another arising out of kinship or personal ties maternal love for a child (2) : attraction based on sexual desire : affection and tenderness felt by lovers After all these years, they are still very much in love. (3) : affection based on admiration, benevolence, or common interests love for his old schoolmates
b : an assurance of affection give her my love
2 : warm attachment, enthusiasm, or devotion love of the sea
3 a : the object of attachment, devotion, or admiration baseball was his first love
b (1) : a beloved person : darling —often used as a term of endearment (2) British —used as an informal term of address
4 a : unselfish loyal and benevolent (see benevolent 1a) concern for the good of another: such as (1) : the fatherly concern of God for humankind (2) : brotherly concern for others
b : a person's adoration of God
5 : a god (such as Cupid or Eros) or personification of love
6 : an amorous episode : love affair
7 : the sexual embrace : copulation
8 : a score of zero (as in tennis)
9 capitalized, Christian Science : god

Of all of these definitions and what is supposed to define what love means why in the world is 'LOVE' not defined as a verb?! To me, when you love someone or something there is an action that assures its existence. Love isn't tangible or simply words spoken. Love is action. Let me say that one more time for those of you in the back. LOVE IS ACTION! That being said, everyone loves differently. Our actions towards each individual person vary widely depending on variables surrounding each relationship. And for those who believe love is unconditional I call bullshit. Not saying that it shouldn't be but the truth is so many people use the word as a pacifier and the person on the receiving end starts to question the very word that is suppose to give life such sustenance and it's value.

You see people like me who have been hurt, betrayed, left broken and riddled with self doubt often question those who even put their words into action. We wear our hearts on our sleeves and often fall fast because of our deep seeded need to be loved in return. There are times we find ourselves trying to overcompensate by being "extra" but the most debilitating part is we will literally question someone so much that we end up pushing people away. Trust me that is the last thing we want. Again we need to feel loved. I'm guilty of asking my husband "Do you really love me?" not because I don't believe him when he tells me or because I don't believe his actions but because my anxiety makes me need his reassurance.

So let me leave you all with this... When someone tells you how you are supposed to love or says "I love you" without any action to back it up don't be afraid to call bullshit! You deserve to be truly loved (ACTION) and shouldn't accept anything less. It's taken me a long time to learn that sometimes people make promises they can't keep, speak words with no meaning and act without legitimacy. Know it's ok if my definition of 'LOVE' is different than yours. The important part is finding someone whose definition closely aligns with yours and saying "Fuck your definition of LOVE" to everyone else.

()
My definition of love: LOVE: verb; Love is being present, it is patience, kindness, forgiveness, honesty and faithfulness. Love is worrying about someone's wellbeing and wanting the best for them. Love is endless prayers. TRUE love is ACTION no matter how insignificant it may seem.

I'm one of the lucky ones who finally found it and despite my many flaws he still finds a way to assure me his love is true. Neither of us are perfect and being in love isn't always going to be easy but it's worth it! Always has been. Always will be.

Take care Steemians. Love and be loved!
-Kells

I do not own rights to photographs used in this post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66214.90
ETH 2997.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73