Finding Your Filet-O-Fish

in #love6 years ago (edited)

This here is the best burger ever created, without a doubt. Anyone who says otherwise is clearly delusional. Jokes aside, I grew up with this fish burger from McDonald's. As a child living in the sunny Orange County, California, I frequented the McDonald's near my house, always rushing out of the car, telling mom to get me "the usual," and diving into the ball pit, a perfect and colorful children's heaven had it not smelled like feet. Chucking red, blue, and yellow balls at my sister, I would have the time of my life as I also waved my arms and legs in a futile attempt to leave my impression in the form of a ball pit snow angel. I failed miserably every time.

Occupied in the play area, I would hear the faint sound of my mom calling for me to eat my meal, her distinct voice enunciating my distinct Korean name. Dragging myself out of the playground, half exhausted, half wanting to play more, and fully hungry, I took a seat at the table my parents had claimed. In my presence was my favorite burger, the Filet-O-Fish, sitting in its vegetable-less wonder. Buns, tartar sauce, a fish patty, and yellow cheese, in that order. One bite was all it took for me to forget about everything and savor that moment of bliss with my loving family.

Then one day, my parents notified me and my sister that we were moving to Korea. Within a month, we were on a Korean Air flight to Incheon Airport, where I began a new life in the foreign land of my citizenship. Everything happened so quickly that I didn't have much time to say goodbye to my friends. It was and still remains a blur to me.

Shockingly, McDonald's in Korea did not have my beloved Filet-O-Fish. They had Big Macs, chicken burgers (if that's what they're called), and everything else, but not my beloved Filet-O-Fish. I was disappointed, but hey, it's only a burger, I reminded myself. You'll get used to it. And so I did. I went on with life, finishing middle and high school in Korea and heading to college back in the States. Filet-O-Fish was no longer a part of my conscious life - it was a memory buried in a chest somewhere, waiting patiently to be pulled out and hugged again.

Many years went by as I finished college (I'm sure I ate Filet-O-Fish in college, but it didn't mean much to me then), completed military service, and attended graduate school. I was just living my normal life when I, a person who doesn't travel much, had the privilege of visiting Amsterdam for a little while with my good friend. Pulling our luggage across the glossy floor of the airport, the two hungry travelers picked a Dutch McDonald's as our dining place. We stood to order, and lo and behold, there was my Filet-O-Fish on the menu. Without a moment of hesitation, I placed my order and within five minutes, I had my tray.


The actual tray

The boxing, the smell, and the taste threw me back to my childhood days, back into the multicolored ball pit, back to the rotating seat where I devoured my Filet-O-Fish in seconds. Back to trouble-free happiness. It was as if I had yanked open that memory box of mine and pulled out the Filet-O-Fish and a bag of emotions along with it. It was certainly a weird feeling of nostalgia, serenity, and longing. It was but a measly burger, but that burger was an embodiment of my happy years. It was the trigger that flung me back to the good old days.

Coming out of a relationship, I realized that I have many Filet-O-Fishes. An Instagram post of a cute puppy, the model of the car she drove, a cafe we used to visit, the Netflix series we watched, the night river view. All these and more are Filet-O-Fishes that plunge me into a pool of memories, to a period when I was foolishly happy. A delicate smile runs across my face, but it dissolves into nothingness as I am reminded of the reality that I cannot go back. The happiness fades into sadness, a slight bitterness.

The cycle repeats itself every day as I bump into another Filet-O-Fish, but with the passing of time, I think the pleasant memories are overpowering the bad. Things are getting better. I hope that one day, I will run into a Filet-O-Fish and have a smile that remains. No sorrow, just happiness.

What are your Filet-O-Fishes? Why don't you take some time and think about items, places, or words that remind you of a happy memory. You may learn and feel a thing or two.

Sort:  

Hello kpopper! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Thank you for the tips! Will keep them in mind as I write and engage with the community.

Source
#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

More information:

The Game of Tags

I’m salivating already,Nice burger. welcome to steemit! I am @ichie1 and I’ll love to see your progress and success here.


Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let's not be afraid to receive each day's surprise, whether it comes to us as sorrow or as joy It will open a new place in our hearts, a place where we can welcome new friends and celebrate more fully our shared humanity.

Henri Nouwen


Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold.

Joseph Parry


The link below is steemit frequent asked questions’ page, it may help answer some of your questions as young member to steemit; https://steemit.com/faq.html

Let’s heal our world with genuine love and acceptance for one another.

Thank you @ichie1. Those are some fine quotes you got there.

Such an emotional post. I closed my eyes and thought about my Filet-O-Fishes. To me, it's the Luciano Kebab, located in Stockport where I spent my childhood.

Thank you for that memory. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Wow! welcome to the steemit ecosystem my friend. the platform is wonderful and so interesting , just stay posted to my blog and you will learn some tips that will help you succeed here. one of the best way to survive here is being original and be the best you can be!!

A contest for newbies is coming up very soon.

Stay posted

welcome again.

olivia.png

Welcome to Steem, @kpopper!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3382 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Congratulations @kpopper! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01