Buy Your Lady a Book For Valentine's Day. Or buy her nothing ... and suffer

in #love4 months ago

My annual Valentine's Day book promotion also serves as a reminder to all you men that, yes, Valentine's Day comes every year.

As we approach the big Sports Bowl weekend, many men have trouble thinking of other things. If they thought really hard, they might remember Valentine's Day is coming up, and plan ahead for a special dinner, flowers, flowery dinners, and/or chocolate flowers at dinner.

But probably not.

Because they're men. So, for those of you totally ignorant of the fact that Valentine’s Day is an annual affair, the humor anthology My Funny Valentine is available in print and e-book. (I have a few copies on hand.) It's an anthology of humor pieces ... about Valentine's Day. It was really easy to title. (Note: One of the humor pieces is mine, but I would have come up with a lamer title.)

My Funny Valentine cover.jpg

Maybe your loved one is allergic to flowers and chocolate, and how sad is that? Buy her a book. Women who read love books. So do men who read, but it's not so hard to shop for men ... or, to put it another way, women are better shoppers.

If your loved one has an e-reader, the Kindle version is just $2.99. If they don’t have one, don’t be cheap—buy them one. They'll know if you're cheap. Or, you could get the print version for $9.95 at Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/My-Funny-Valentine-Hilarious-Complications/dp/1936955040

My Funny Valentine back cover.jpg

I’d advise against getting them the book for the second or third year in a row, though—they’d certainly notice. But I suppose in that case you could go over to http://www.markrhunter.com/ (or Amazon, or Barnes and Noble, etc.) and grab one of my romantic comedies for the loving one you love.

92678-106.jpg

Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0058CL6OO
Barnes & Noble:  https://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/"Mark R Hunter"
Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4898846.Mark_R_Hunter
Blog: https://markrhunter.blogspot.com/
Website: http://www.markrhunter.com/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ozma914/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MarkRHunter914
Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/markrhunter/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarkRHunter
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@MarkRHunter
Substack:  https://substack.com/@markrhunter
Tumblr:  https://www.tumblr.com/ozma914

Remember, when you forget to give your Valentine a gift, Cupids cry.

Coming Attractions Valentine.png

Sort:  

Hey Mark,
how are you doing? Long time not heard...
I'm solely active over at Hive, you may have heard about it. Btw, you have a account there too, everybody who was in Steemit at the time of the big schism automatically got a account on hive, the passwords are the same as here.
But anyway, I guess you are not so happy now - I heard about the big freeze in the US lately. Its not very pleasant here either, but not as extreme as you have it.
Dont know if I told you already, I'm officially a pensioner now. With a tiny pension, as many people here have. But at least I dont need a alarm clock anymore.
I see you are still working on your author career. How is it going lately? Any new books out or coming soon?

Ok, I'm going back to my Hive again. Kind of feel like trespassing here... :)
Have a look over there if you want, its basically the same as here, only with suttle differences and without chinese management.

See you later,
Pete

Hive?! I'd wondered where you were--I've never been on Hive, but I'll check it out. In the last few years I've ended up on several social media sites, so if I go on a new one I'll probably have to choose another to let go.

I've got eleven books now, and I'm working on a non-fiction work for History Press about hauntings in Noble County, where I live. Ghost stories! But my work tends to slow down in winter, when the awful weather gets me down. I always have stuff I'm working on, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's coming out soon.

Congrats on your retirement ...? I could have retired from my full time job two years ago, but my retirement pay would only be half of what I'm making at work--and I can't take our version of a pension, social security, for another three years. I'd love to be writing full time, but I need to sell more books by a factor of 100 to do that.

Hm ... the same passwords. I don't know what my password is ....

Ghost stories sounds interesting. However, is Noble County old enough to have ghosts? :)
Well, perhaps Indian ghosts... But are they same as scary? Ghost wolfes, ghost bears and ghost eagles I guess. Its just not the same as headless riders and murdered women in white. :)

Yes, Hive is basically a clone of Steemit. Somehow like the Protestant church and The Catholic church. The split happened when the guy who invented Steemit sold it for some millions to a Chinese guy, Justin Sun. In hindsite it was all much ado about nothing. As so often...

Yes, the passwords are the same unless you changed them. And you should have made a copy and keep it in a secure place. If you loose them you cannot access you account and wallet anmore.
Are you still working in the emergency dispatch? Well, if it is a acceptable work and not too demanding, just keep going. I probably would have continued working for the British army untill my retirement, if they hadn't sacked me and closed down. Today there are only 300 British soldiers still in Germany - in the 80s there were 1300 only here in my town. But in view of the recent developements they might come back again, who knows. The Cold War reloaded... who would have thought that could happen...
But be glad you are living and working in relativly quiet place, and not in a big city. Like this one:

Oh, I love living in a small town--I wouldn't move to the city for anything. As for dispatching, it's certainly acceptable work--but I would call it pretty demanding, if not physically. There's a huge amount of stress. Writing is one of the ways I relax after a shift!

We have plenty of ghost stories around here, although I'm sure not as many as in Europe. The way I see it, a ghost could pop up the day after a death--if he wanted to. We've had all sorts of tragedies, including a man buried in the town cemetery who was murdered in his home by thieves. If there's anyone who stuck around looking for revenge ...

150 years ago the area was overrun with various criminals--we were the west at the time, after all, and there were plenty of swamps and forests to hide out in. Eventually a group of "Regulators" tracked down and hung one of their leaders, who I'd imagine is also still around. Lots of stories.

I'll check out Hive, but it'll half to wait until after my book deadline has been met--I've got a lot to do in the next few months. Hopefully I can have it done before the weather gets better and I'd rather be outside.

Yes, I think soon people will concider themself lucky if they can get away from such cities. The videos from Philadelphia look much like scenes from a dystopian SF movie already. Unbelievable that the authorities dont step into action over this.

Sure, in theory ghosts dont have to be old, I guess. But it somehow looks better, dont you think? Also together with the location. A ghost in a medival castle is somehow more impressive than one in a normal modern house. Or imagine count Dracula living in a appartment, next to neighbours who are noisy all day. How is that supposed to work... :)
But I guess 150 years is basically enough for a legit ghost. Though, I dont know if bandits make good ghosts. Usually ghosts are somehow innocent victims of some awful crime or so. A bandit who got hung for his evil deeds is not entitled to haunt around, I think.
Well, there are still the native Americans, and their graveyards and tales.No doubt good ghost material. Wasn't the background story in the movie Poltergeist also based on that?

Yes, older ghosts have style! And older ghosts in older buildings is perfect. I'm working on a novel in which ghosts exist, but they're usually rather bland--very good people and very bad people tend to disappear right away.

By the way, my wife and I have been watching both the American and the British version of the sitcom "Ghosts"--it's interesting to see how they're similar, and different.

As for Poltergeist: "You moved the cemetery, but you left the bodies!" Yes, I do recall that Native Americans were involved. Interesting side note: There was a scene shot with an actress in a pool in which skeletons start rising around her: Unknown to her at the time, they were REAL skeletons, although I don't recall where they came from. No wonder the production is supposedly cursed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64