He thinks I'm easy...In the Life: Domestic Violence Survivor Story

in #love6 years ago

After dropping him off at his house in my shattered car that he ruined, he offered me a ticket to his High School graduation that evening. I didn't know that his graduation event was happening. He explained further that he wanted to come by my school campus afterschool unexpectedly to surprise me with the tickets to watch him walk the stage.

I was not ecstatic. I was not happy and I was disappointed at what he did. But I was proud of him. It was best that I didn't attend his graduation. He granted that this was the last thing he wished for...for me to attend his graduation before officially leaving.

As much as my heart said no, I thought to endure this last event with him as his wish and be gone forever. I took his wish and made it happened. The whole time, all I thought about what my friend who I left behind that same day without letting him know. I thought, "Maybe he's still waiting for me...maybe he thought I was selfish and a fool. Is he still there? Did he leave? He probably never wants to talk to me ever again. What kind of a friend would ditch them?"

As we arrived at his graduation, I sat next to his family who had no idea what our deal was. I sat there patiently waiting for his moment to walk that stage. While everyone shouted with gladness and laughter, I was falling asleep. I could see him as I sat up in the high seats in the auditorium. But my eyes were giving up. I thought I could endure just a little more but I was so tire. I wasn't tire from the hectic day he gave me. I was tire from everything he put me through. It was draining my body's energy mentally, physically and emotionally.

Falling asleep multiple times and having quick awakenings to the shouts and screams around me, it was finally his turn to walk the stage. That moment felt like forever but I was able to witness it like he had asked. I couldn't wait for this to end so I can drive home and check on my friend. The whole time I felt as though I my friend could start hating me too.

As he walked that stage, I felt a feeling of relief. It was over. He knew and I knew that this was it. This was the end of both our torture. I wanted nothing from him and I mean nothing.

The graduation event ended. His family and I stepped outside for pictures and congratulating him on his achievements. Yes, we were all proud. But I knew that in the back of both of our minds, he was sad. Our time was slowly coming to an end.

He cried. Tears rolling down his face faster than I can count. The frown he had staring at me while they took pictures. His family counted those tears as tears of joy and happiness. But I knew what was going on in his head. The more he looked at me, the more I felt guilty. This was what this whole invitation to his graduation was about for me. It was so that I can have the guilt to take back my words about leaving him after seeing him in distress on his special day.

The more he stared at me with those tears, the more I just can't stand it anymore. I didn't feel guilt but I was disappointed he wanted me to feel this way. Those tears could have teared me a part a long time ago but at that moment, those tears meant nothing compared to what I went through. I had to look away. Look into the grass, the sky....whatever but not look at him as he continued to stare into my eyes with those tears and his family members being around.

He thought I was easy. He thought that with this trick, I would stick...so I walked away until the family happiness eased and we can all call it a day to go home. Instead, he insisted a last wish to attend a dinner celebration with his family for him and go back to his home for a 'nice' talk before we end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67