The Phone Number....In the Life: Domestic Violence Survivor Story

in #love6 years ago

I never got the chance that day to check up on my friend who I ditched and that killed me deeply. You see, since the chaos happened in my horrifying relationship with him, many of my close friends stayed their distance whenever it comes to him. I don't blame them. I would probably do the same too. Some thought they knew what was going on and made assumptions. Some supported me and some didn't. But the only one who saw something different in me than the rest of the crowd was my one friend I ditched that day. How could I do this?

That last day, sitting in his room as he cried. I stayed silent till he was ready to say his words before we officially end this. It was a long day after his graduation and dinner. I was exhausted to the max yet there I was with him listening to his cries. I had no more emotions left for him. I felt nothing more and nothing else for his dreadful tears. When he finally spoke, he asked me if I loved him (my friend). That has nothing to do with him, I thought. With my silence, gave him my answer. Then he wanted something else. My friend's number.

I refused to give out my friend's number. A friend would not do that, especially when I just did the worst thing to a friend that very same day. How could I? I knew of his intentions and why he wanted the number. He assured me that he wasn't going to say or do anything bad once he gets the number. I refused many times. In my mind, I thought about how my friend would feel or think about how bad of a person I was if I had given his number to his terrible person he just saw go crazy today.

I was not fortunate to have a mobile phone with me during these hard days but I remember my friends phone number by heart. He tried to get it out of me but I refused. This time, he didn't physically persuade or force me to give it out. Instead, he used his words assuring me nothing would happen. One thing for sure was if I did not give him my friend's phone number I would never leave. I would not see the end to this tiring relationship.

So I made a deal.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mccvang! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @mccvang! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68