Her lughing my crushing...

in #love6 years ago

'"Is she taller than me?" This was the first concern on my mind when I first caught a glimpse of her. Later on, however, after much analysis I was relieved to find out that actually I was the taller one.
Although we both spent 2 years studying together at Chittagong College, never did the boring, studious girl and twitchy, bookish boy ever meet. I was a first-timer and after I'd migrated to CMC from Salimullah Medical College, I felt quite proud of myself. Back then, Shreshtha was going to coaching centres as she prepared to sit for the exam a second time. And seeing my photograph on the prospectus books of various coaching centres, all she did was curse and abuse me. In any case, the following year, she also ended up here in CMC, after having migrated from Rangpur Medical College.
That's when I sent her a friend request on Facebook. I was the cool senior. Or atleast that's how I acted. But my pretence was not winning anyone over. She wasn't really paying me much attention and she only messaged me when she needed my help, seldom replying to my texts. On the wall facing the Upper Lecture Gallery, there is one of my artworks. With my name and signature at the bottom. One day, Shreshtha knocks me on Facebook out of the blue and wants to me if that is really my artwork? At last, the ice has started to melt.
Although she was still quite stuck-up, I realized this girl likes creative things. She didn't talk much though. So I took quite the risk when I confessed my feelings for her. 19th May, 2013. Immediately, without giving me a reply, not even a yes or a no, she went offline!
If she didn't talk to me before, now she had cut off all communication and was actively avoiding me in campus. Then, out of nowhere, she messaged me one day. 18th July, 2013. And as we talked, I sensed that she was trying to influence me to propose to her again. But I wasn't going to give in so easily. I pretended that I didn't know what was happening and asked her to see me on campus the next day.
We met at the old academic library, Shimu library. As soon as she got there, I remember I didn't let her say a word. I had written down the words "Will you want to be Mrs. Roy?" on one of the library tables, with a yes/no option next to it. Tick one.
And with that, we began our love.
The new library is in the new academic building. Shimu library is closed now. I think that table is lost. Please, if anyone ever finds that table, kindly let us know.

image

Our love has been going on from that time. And the best part about our love are the letters. She loves writing letters. I already have 60-70 of her letters saved up. When I get time, I still read them sometimes. Reminiscence the old memories. We don't write as often now as we used to back then. But I wish that when we are old, out of work doctors, that we can spend our days talking through our letters.
We have nothing in common. I like peace and quiet and eating in a restaurant. And she likes the hustle and bustle of a CMC mezban. I like CNGs but she prefers rickshaws. I watch movies and she watches cricket. The only thing we have in common is that we want to love each other and stay together for many years, and that we want to see the World Cup in Messi's hands. Maybe this is what has glued us together despite all the differences. Yes, we do fight, and sometimes we stop talking, but never more than 24 hours. That's how we have been for the last 5 years. I keep myself busy with my campus life, our love, my politics, studies, my coaching students and she lives to keep to herself. But even amidst these, we manage to find time for "us". We stay happy. We treasure our friendship more than our relationship. We want to stay together forever as best friends. I want to remain your "chotto bondhu" forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71