Oilcan guitar - Making of & Soundtest

in #luthier6 years ago (edited)

snap.jpg



Due to popular demand, here is my making of video & soundtest of the latest oilcan guitar I made! The first part is the making of, in the end I'm playing a bluesy tune so you can hear what the guitar sounds like :)
I hope you like the video!

Parts used for this oilcan guitar:
Body: 10l oilcan
Neck: Mahogany
Fretboard: Rosewood
Tailpiece: frying spatula
Tuning-pegs: Harley Benton
Strings: D'Addario EJ26

This is how I make a guitar. I never properly learned how to make instruments, "real" luthiers might be doing it completely differently.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

The sound is really nice!
Great work dude! :O

So incredible. You totally delivered in every regard.
The metal'ish character sounds really good, and way better than I expected.
If I need a new instrument I definitely know where to go ;)

thanks, I'm happy to hear it :) I'd also be happy to make one for you if you ever need a new instrument :) that goes not only for guitars, I've also made ukuleles, banjos and mandolins out of cookietins as well as oilcan guitars, an oilcan electric upright bass and most recently an oilcan octave Mandolin. I'll be posting about all of them here eventually :)

Super happy to have you in my tribe, really excited to see your updates.
Happy crafting dude!

Awesome craftsmanship, and it sounds great too!

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

This was mesmerising to watch. I'm normally into writing but I just sat there openmouthed and stared as you turned an oilcan into a musical instrument. Great job.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

thank you :) I'm glad you liked it! I love writing as well, but for some stuff pics and video are great!

@dose-instruments, I need you to reply that you accept the nomination if you want to have a chance at that. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55