Lone Flower

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

Every year since the 1950’s my family has camped at the same spot in the Pacific Northwest. This particular spot is at the edge of what is now a designated wilderness.

At least five generations of my family have gathered here, some traveling hundreds of miles. This most recent trip at the end of June was marked by the presence of someone who came via commercial flight and a three hour drive. This person was one of the first to start the tradition back when she was a child in the early 60’s, but had since moved far away.

One of my favorite activities is taking pictures of all the vibrant scenery. This humble little flower caught my eye as it stood alone in a dried up river bed. Around it was nothing but rocks and a few weeds.

Taken with my Canon Rebel XS.

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/anarchonist-lone-flower-1531980166225.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Hey! Good to see you posting again! There are SEVERAL photo contests now, let me just give you a couple starters. The photocontests is run by @juliank, so follow that account. He is on a different time than us, so far that it is a different DAY, so watch for his post announcing a topic each day to get the most out of your photo post from him. For isntance: https://steemit.com/photography/@juliank/happyfridaysteemitshareyourstreetandportraitphotography-201807200000015359
You will see that his Friday post went up 16 hours ago, ideally you want to post your street / portrait photo within 24 hours of his post going up (it makes you eligible to win the contest, which is INCREDIBLY competitive, so if you have a great pic and need a post idea, just post any day.) You will also see the list of each day's photo subject, they are the same every week so you can start planning ahead and trying to get photos for the different topics. After you make your post, it is helpful to click the tag you used and go upvote a few other people in the same contest. If you go support folks who are not "big players" they are very likely to come upvote you back.

OK, the other photo contest I recommend is a weekly one, hosted by @killerwhale. The guy running that account is top shelf, he also runs @thealliance which once you are "in the groove" let me know, and we will get you into that group. He has a different theme each week. You have a MUCH better chance of actually winning one of his contests. I have to run to Ontario this morning, but I will point you toward more photo contests when I get back!

Awesome thanks!

Awesome shot! My family has a place like that but we're all disorganized and we have a much smaller family(two generations since the 60s ha). We still try to get there when we all can, although I'm probably the worst at it :( Oh well though I'm also the youngest, so there's still time.

It's definitely important to keep some traditions such as these. I'm not a big tradition person; but I think of all traditions, destinations are the ones I can most relate to. There's something about a place that might change a lot but never really does. Great photo :) Thanks for sharing.

Thanks man! It’s cool you have something similar. Sometimes it’s too much work but just think how cool it will feel for those in the future generations to look back on.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can't believe this photo is take directly from a camera.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. I was using a telephoto lens but it takes pretty good macros

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, amazing

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73