~ FLOWER DROPS ~ 50 Incredible Macro Shots! ~

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

Sweet SWEDISH Rain

DSCN1850

I am proud to announce that today it has rained. It started last night, stormed on into the morning, and it looks to be off and on all day! That won't stop me from getting some amazing captures to share though. 50 plus in fact and the rain truly enhanced the beauty of the framed compositions dramatically!

DSCN1789
DSCN1803
DSCN1804_2

I went to walk the dog and a gleam of light caught my eye. At first, it appeared to look like mini mirror-glass orbs covering these thick leaves. I think it was just the angle of approach that made the droplets glint. I thought to myself, as soon as I get the dog situated inside I must get my camera and get some shots.

DSCN1784_2

DSCN1786

DSCN1787

DSCN1787a

Of course, one thing led to another and I decided to get some flowers with drops on them. That led to an extended period of looking for different varieties of flowers to capture their drops, hence the title. I love the macro images of water drops. I don't think it ever really gets old... but I still didn't want just some generic photographs of some typical drops on plants.

DSCN1805

DSCN1806

DSCN1809

DSCN1810_2

DSCN1811_2

DSCN1813

DSCN1814

DSCN1815

Almost like a bee myself, I went from one group of flowers to the next and hovered over each flower shot for as long as I could handle doing my little routine. Sometimes I get fortunate and the first shot in a series hits... then the rest usually flow pretty well. On most occasions the routine is almost a voluntary form of sadistic torture.

DSCN1816_2

DSCN1816b

DSCN1821_2

DSCN1824

DSCN1825

DSCN1826

That routine consists of steadying and anchoring my position with my body, then holding my breath. After that, still, in one action I begin to make endless attempts at getting the camera focus honed in on precisely what I want. I hold the shutter down half-way and if the focus isn't right... I release the shutter and repeat. It's the absolute worst part of "digital" photography and the bane of my existence!

DSCN1831_2

DSCN1832_2

DSCN1834_2

DSCN1847

DSCN1848

Of course, I can't always hold my breath the whole time it takes to get every shot in focus like I want, but when I exhale it can affect my macro shots significantly. It's kind of funny that in nature you are supposed to relax and become one with the environment and all that jazz... but here I am probably turning red in the face sometimes and stressing over getting the shot just the way I want! Once I get the focus right and go for the shot with the shutter halfway primed... I exhale slowly, releasing my breath just as I "squeeze" the trigger!

DSCN1849

DSCN1852_2

DSCN1855

DSCN1868

DSCN1870_2

DSCN1871

I started writing this post before I collected all my shots. In fact, I just got back to charge my battery and I was also running out of drops. The humidity picked up, the sun shone for a few minutes, and much of the moisture was sucked back into the atmospheric ether where it came from! This was disappointing as I had just stumbled across a few weird looking flowers with some action but no drops.

DSCN1882

DSCN1887

DSCN1884

DSCN1890

That little buggah' had to have come in the back door!?!

DSCN1889

DSCN1893_2

DSCN1892_2

Fortunately, It's sprinkling again now while I update this post. Looking forward to the next round of attempts. I have seen some very interesting things along the way. Honestly, I am a little surprised and the diversity of floral options at the moment. There is so much going on it's almost difficult to keep up!

DSCN1873_2

DSCN1875

DSCN1877_2

DSCN1878

We will finish off here with a couple cool angles and a few of some Spider dangles! I hope somebody makes it this far. I assure you that if you didn't just scroll through briefly (even if you did ) but carefully inspected each and every photograph that you would find something you would find beautiful! I know I did and believe it or not, it was difficult thinning the herd down to this meek selection. Thanks for sticking with me this far... Let's Finish Strong!

DSCN1896_2

DSCN1897_3

DSCN1901

DSCN1904

DSCN1905

DSCN1906

I took all of these macro photographs with my Nikkon CoolPix.

I appreciate you all taking the time to stop by and check out some
Sweet SWEDISH Rain with a side of Flower Drops with me.


&
STEEM ON MY FRIENDS

Sort:  

Hello @castleberry, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much @creativecrypto! I appreciate y'all stopping by to check out my artistic captures of nature's beauty! Keep Up The Great Work &
Steem On My Friends!

You just planted 0.38 tree(s)!


Thanks to @castleberry

We have planted already 5668.05 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22208.79
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-11T18:43:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 490.85/200.00
Total Photos: 84
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71