Reverse Lens Shoot!

in #macrophotography6 years ago

Several years ago, I took this pictures after getting my first DSRL, Nikon D5000. I started to experiment with the "reverse lens" technique. I had a lot of fun and a sense of accomplishment seeing how you can get a real macro photography without using a proper macro lens (they are really expensive too).

HOW DOES A REVERSE LENS WORK?
It works exactly like it sounds. You just need to mount your lens backwards, with a ring adaptor and get really close to the object and shoot it!! You are gonna loose the electric connection between the body and the lens. So you need to set up the camera on manual mode and set the aperture of the lens manually as well through the manual aperture rings. Unfortunately, the majority of moderns lenses have no manual aperture ring.

THE EQUIPMENT I USED:
I have no adapter so I try this technique in a different way. I mount on my camera the 18-105 mm lens and hold with my hand the 50mm backwards and get a few inches away from the object.

You really need to be patient and willing to try over and over again before getting a decent one, but it's worth it.

Below you can see some of my result using this technique.

I give to this photo the title ALLIES
Even if the ant looks bigger and potentially a powerful enemy the ants and aphids are allies. The first ones protect the others from predators. The aphids secrete a sugary substance that ants appreciate enthusiastically. It's always interesting to see how different animals species work together.

Reverse Lense Photo Daniela Frattaruoo.JPG

Don't pay attention to the signature (It is the one I used sometimes during my first year photographing )

Reverse Lense Daniela Frattaruolo 3.JPG

Mosquitoes can be very interesting creature to photograph.

Reverse Lense Daniela Frattaruolo 2 .JPG

This is my entry for the #macrophotography contest by @juliank and @photocontests. I hope is not to late to participate.

Thanks for reading. Any comments or advice are welcome and appreciate.

All the photo and texts are original

Sort:  

This is an amazing example of DIY :)
I am also in craving for a macro lens, but it's just not affordable at the moment... Reminds me of the time when I was trying out astrophotography shooting through binoculars :) :)

10900143_10204192934957805_1456941277593713561_o.jpg

Ajajajaj cool! Did you tooke good pictures with that? :)

Mostly they were crap... :)
But this one didn't turn out so bad:

Moon.jpg

They impress me! Me impresionan! Jaja so cool my friend. Now.. Would you do the same techniche and photpgraph someone's eye? Can it be done or is another lens? I love eyes!!!

Thank you so much!!!
Of course you can!! Remember that you need a lot of light on the subject! This is another picture of mine.
Reverse Lense Ojo Daniela Frattaruolo JPG.JPG

Hope to see one of your work soon!

Nice photography tip. I will definitely try that since I cannot afford to buy a macro lens right now. Keep on posting! Great addition.

Excellent photos! I wanna try it. I hope my lenses can do it 🙂

This is great work! Seems you are a pro! And you took some patience on this, the result of reverse lens was nice..

Thanks a lot for your comment ! I just do my best and the reverse lens was a interesting exercise of patience :)

Interesting. I have never played with anything other than a compaq or a smart phone camera. this is making me want to get something decent and experiment :-)

With present technology you can have a really good picture just with the phone, but it's never like with a reflex because of the interaction you have with your camera (more settings). Thanks for your comment, happy you like it :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 20:59:02
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 17.20/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56