The Leaf Miner - Single Shot Photography

Hi everyone,

Another Single Shot Photography post today, this time a bit different than my usual topics..

I was walking around a park just outside of Revelstoke when I noticed something very strange in the leaves of a couple of trees. I had never seen something like this inside a leaf and it was a good opportunity to test how my new camera would handle a macro shot. I could actually see the larva eat its way while crawling through the surface of the leaf. It was quite fascinating to witness. Apparently they are called leaf miners, it is an insect (fly-like) that lays an egg inside of a leaf and the larva grows while eating its way out and flies off when they are full grown. Crazy how nature works!

Hope you like the shot!

leaf.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks, Boss @toocurious for sharing it here on steemit for all your friends to see, we do see a lot of this leaf miner here where I live but I have never think about sharing, Lol.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-07T04:56:57
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 689.72/800.00
Total Photos: 47
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I've captured similar phenomenon on the walk in a polish forest yesterday. Nature's graphics!
DSC05379.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99