The Steemit Couples List - Spreading the love in our community

in #makesteemitgreat-again6 years ago (edited)


Source: LoveCoins.io

I recently read an article about how marriages on the blockchain might work: https://medium.com/love-platform-and-love-coins/marriage-on-the-blockchain-e2cfa44e9b07

However, it doesn't seem to have last as long as the couples I know on Steemit...

One of the things I really enjoy on Steemit is to hear stories about people and their relationships. In fact the first contest I ran on Steemit was a bounty contest to find couples and it was a great success! Since then I have been adding to the list and now I think it would be quite interesting to put them all in a big and and see what has brought them to each other and to Steemit.

Back when I first came across the posts by @tifaong about the 5 Languages of Love (http://www.5lovelanguages.com/) I was immediately interested in doing a little experiment to see if the couples of Steemit shared something in common. So I would like to invite the couples on this list to take the quiz and also share something with us about how they met and what brought them to Steemit by posting in the comments and I will update this list.

Believe me, it is very difficult to collect this kind of information on Steemit since unlike Facebook there is no relationship status and links to who you are in a relationship with, so over the course of no less than three bounties I have collected this information together (so I hope @paulag will kindly let me count this one as a #blockchainbi post :p).

Also, just to show that I have done a little bit of analyais, I have also calculated what I call the 'Power (Couple) Rating', which is the average reputation score of the couples:

Partner APartner Breputation scoresPower Rating
@hilarski@anahilarski73/7071.5
@opheliafu@cryptofunk75/6369
@michelle.gent@s0u174/6469
@raluca@dragosroua64/7368.5
@paolobeneforti@silviabeneforti68/6968.5
@bkdbkd@exyle62/7468
@kommienezuspadt@vermillionfox70/6567.5
@allasyummyfood@ivargereiko73/6167
@kafkanarchy84@mslight2016st74/5966.5
@lukestokes@corinnestokes73/6066.5
@kiwideb@sift66667/6465.5
@abh12345@osm0sis68/5963.5
@melodyrussell@jasonrussell59/6662.5
@coruscate@raised2b67/5862.5
@simba@rainbowdash67/5762
@dayleeo@teamhumble60/6462
@roundhere@whatsup54/6961.5
@damira@dandesign8659/6461.5
@herpetologyguy@ellepdub68/5561.5
@cryptokeepr@pretzelgirlsandy61/6161
@alovelymess@drobinson60/6261
@mihail.tsvetkov@kanoe62/5960.5
@jackmiller@sylviamiller62/5960.5
@donnadavisart@winstonalden59/6260.5
@denmarkguy@cosmictriage69/5160
@eco-Alex@clara-andriessen65/5459.5
@jerrybanfield@laurabanfield74/4559.5
@carrieallen@chrisroberts58/5858
@bluerthangreen@allforthegood60/5658
@enternamehere@jschindler63/5257.5
@techslut @mrlightning @poet @lionne66/58/55/4957
@enchantedspirit@catweasel59/5557
@kaliju@hannaju58/5657
@carey-page@wwf49/6456.5
@erodedthoughts@imaginedragon61/5256.5
@rt395@tokyowomanslife60/5055
@junebride@panoramicview58/5255
@rocking-dave@naydenova57/5154
@preparedwombat@ducksaplenty60/4854
@moderndragon@simplylizelle54/5454
@emmyem84@bradlovesbeer56/5254
@therneau@jusipassetti57/5053.5
@lynncoyle1@briancourteau53/5252.5
@theferalone@kokibyivana53/5252.5
@derangedvisions@faitherz3357/4852.5
@idyllwild@sagescrub48/5652
@insideoutlet@shai-hulud53/5051.5
@saysme@austinhopper50/5351.5
@qberry@qberryfarms53/5051.5
@byn@serapium56/4651
@cjsound@thetinykitchen50/5150.5
@thegiftofself@rawutah49/5250.5
@tifaong@williamsyee52/4950.5
@ironmanmatt@helenoftroy47/5350
@starthere@suitcasemama45/4947
@zalife@stylebeautylife50/4346.5
@bobydimitrov@bghandmade50/4346.5
@skycae@offgridninja55/3846.5
@mrsbiscuits@grahambiscuits57/3546
@rwedegis@swedegis52/3744.5
@newcastle@drmarysawdon45/4243.5
@roger-that@patricia-nvs38/3134.5
@dahmsy79@shesasaint41/2533
@juliebreheny@jbreheny29/3431.5

I am not sure if this means anything, but if you look at the difference between the reputation score of the couples, you'll find that 43% of the couples here have a reputation score difference of 5 or less (3 couples have exactly the same reputation score), and that just under 75% of couples have a reputation score difference of 10 or less. So I guess the couples here do grow together on Steemit as well :)

Do you know anyone else that should also be on this list? Can you think of games or activities that we can involve the couples on this list? If you want to see this list grow and for me to add some more information about the couples on this list, please spread the word and also encourage them to send me some interesting facts so I can add them here.

Proudly supporting @newbieresteemday, @newbiegames, @ifc, @helpie, @asapers, @friendsofgondor, @greetersguild


Image by @amariespeaks


Image by @simplymike


Image by @shai-hulud


Image by @bit-pizza

Also supporting @danielsaori and @davemccoy as witnesses to help grow the community for those that want to learn and grow by helping others just like you:
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@danielsaori/witness-announcement-new-witness-on-the-block-partnering-with-davemccoy

Vote for @danielsaori
SteemConnect Link: https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=danielsaori&approve=1

Sort:  

Thanks for compiling this list @fibrefox! I had no idea there were so many of us:)

This is how @briancourteau and I met:

One day my friend gave me the name and number of a man she had met the night before at a bar/restaurant (yes, it's going where you think it's going ;), so I asked her if she'd been drinking; she said yes, but only wine haha So I threw the piece of paper in a drawer and forgot about it until three weeks later when a weekend was approaching where I had no plans whatsoever. I decided on a whim to message him on Facebook (sorry, I didn't know about steemit then!) and we planned to meet for dinner the following night. Neither of us had any expectations of that evening, in fact, Brian almost cancelled. We met, talked for hours, laughed and quite simply, fell in love. We talked or got together nearly every day after that fateful night, and moved in together 9 months later. The rest, as they say, is history :)

When we moved to Mexico almost one year ago now, our amigo here @deancarter, through @luzcypher, introduced us to steemit and we have never looked back!

Thank you again for compiling this data!

For me Steemit is all about the people so I am really glad that there are so many couples here, and that I know a few of them when I started out on Steemit (and continue to follow them). Every time I think of the type of relationship that can endure the test of time, I think of you and Brian and hope that we can all meet someone like that in our lives :)

That's sweet to say, and I hope so too.

I can't believe I forgot to tell you this, but I know another very sweet couple here on steemit that are not on your list. @rwedegis and @swedegis. They are both awesome :)

I have added them to my list now so thanks for the contribution :)

You are very welcome!

Ehrm, that's a really odd way of showing @techslut is in a relationship with both me and @mrlightning. Furthermore, she's also in a relationship with @lionne, and @lionne is also in a relationship with me.

I know we fuck up the whole binary system, but please, can you not cram me into the same slot with @mrlightning? we're individual people, and my relationship with @techslut is unique and separate from the one she has with @mrlightning.

Poly people making a mess! Yay! I think @lionne wasn't on the blockchain when this list was compiled, but let's see how a polycule can be described in a post about "couples".

Sorry, seems like I didn't get the entire story so I'll have to update this entry a bit more :p As @techslut says, poly people don't fit into the normal system... I have created a separate entry for the four of you :)

@opheliafu and @cryptofunk are wife and husband ;-) ...hope this is not a secret...LoL gleeful minuscule.png

How did you figure it out? There are so many power couples on Steemit! I wonder what else I might be able to find out about them...

I discover it randomly and by making some deductions...LoL ^_^

Found another one for you :)

I have added them as the 63rd couple on my list :)

Wow, @suitcasemama and I are a POWER couple!!! We need a sweet new moniker, like Brangelina (RIP). Maybe @suitcase-here or @start-mama :)

So, we met five years ago in Thailand. She was on a holiday from the Philippines and I snatched her up :) We did long distance for awhile, then got married three years ago - actually, we're just back from celebrating our anniversary this evening, so this post has excellent timing!

Thanks @fibrefox for a fun contest. You obviously put a ton of time and effort into this, thank you!

Thanks for stopping by the bounty contest and also this post. I am enjoying all the stories coming out from the couples and I will be updating this list to include the stories as well :)

This is so cool! How on earth did you find all of this to compile!?! It's awesome.

@serapium and I met 27, almost 28 years ago. We actually wrote "How We Met" blog posts with our own perspectives for a contest that we did around Valentine's day. We will celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary in June this year.

The SUPER short version? If you need a quick synopsis, let me just say this. [That]night we were driving home from the Open Mic night at the coffeehouse when I told Patrick/@serapium that we each needed to write our own versions of our “how we met” story and he kind of laughed.
Then from the back my son (who is 22) says, “Well dad thought he was going to get some head and got you instead.”
Annnnnnd… well. Um. He’s not wrong. (and yes, our kids know this about our story now that they’re older.)

Serapium's Post What Does Love at First Sight Look Like

And my post Unexpected Love Story

HOw-We-Met-myside-350.png

Twenty eight years and still going strong! Hopefully the only thing that has changed is the fashion and the haircut :D What a great story and I hope people will go over and read the long version :)

Your how you met contest was when I started writing down couples for @fibrefox's future contest. Lol. You were the first one I told him about I think. 😁

Oh my word I can't even begin to imagine how much time and effort compiling this list must of taken.

@therneau and I met around 15 years ago at a restaurant that we both worked at. He was my best friend and then when he got a job in Durban and left I realised that I loved him and followed him 😁. We've been together ever since.

He was introduced to Steemit by a family member and as I take a while to make decisions I watched. He was enjoying it so much and it brought him so much happiness. This was all I needed to join myself and I'm so happy that I did.

Thank you again for this, it's really awesome.

Even though Steemit didn't bring anyone together, I am glad to know that you have brought each other to Steemit and we are so happy to have you two here!

Wow! That’s actually quite a list.
I just recently found out about another couple. I had been talking with both for weeks and had no idea.
The clue is in this post: https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@magicalmoonlight/let-s-help-each-other-grow

Excited to make the list, now to move up it lol... ill checknout the quiz and respond with other details later. Cant gym and concentrate on details lol.

for sure this is a blochchainbi post. Awesome work. really awesome. I was not aware of so many couples. Thank you for the post

I am going to add a little bit more analysis to it when I get time (and if people are interested)... it was quite a big job to compile the list but now that it is on the blockchain we can do some more number crunching :)

That's great @paulag !! I too wasn't aware of so many couples on steemit, and I'm proud to be listed here with my love @briancourteau :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84