Benefit Roller Liquid Eye Liner - Review

in #makeup5 years ago

cover.jpg

Hello and welcome back to 523!! How has your week been so far? Mine has been kinda rough....I have had a nasty sinus infection this week. But, it's getting a little better....I did an eye shadow look using the Rimmel Electric Violet pallet yesterday, and took photos and all to show you this week....unfortunately, with me being under the weather, I forgot to put on mascara. You know you're sick when you forget mascara! So I went around all day yesterday with no mascara and what looked to be, no lashes too...it wasn't pretty, I will say that for sure.

But, all is good today and I should hopefully have that tutorial up for you soon...including mascara.

So let's talk today about a high end product that I have been trying out. It is the Benefit Roller Ball Liquid Liner in Matte Black.

5.jpg

If you have poked around my blog for a bit, you will notice that I am a drugstore makeup kind of girl. While I do have plenty of high end products, I like showing women that it doesn't take a ton of money to create the look that a high end product does....plus, I can't take Caleb into Sephora with me and stay completely sane.

NO SEPHORA.jpg

Therefore, if I keep to the drugstore makeup aisle, I can let Caleb grab a little Hot Wheels or Pokemon toy and tell him he can buy it ONLY if mommy can look at the makeup section without tears (from him not me, I cry with delight in the makeup aisle), and that seems to work quite well.

yes sephora.jpg

BUT, if I can't find a product in the drugstore that works close to, just as well or better than the high end version then I will fork over the cash for the high end. With that said, I am comparing a high end liner to my most loved drugstore favorite liners to see if it's worth the price.

pricey products cover.jpg

So let's talk about the Benefit Roller Liquid Eye Liner.

Before I get too far gone, I have to disclose that I was sent this liner free of charge from Influencer, to try out, review and post my thoughts. However, just because it was sent at no charge does NOT influence my thoughts in any way, shape or form. My comparison and thoughts are always based as if I purchased this with my own money and current financial situation.

Let's hop to it.....

So the claims of the Benefit Rooler Liquid Eye Liner are as follows:

Matte, black

Glide on smooth application that won't drag

Easy Precision

Quick Dry

Waterproof

Fade, flake, bleed and smudge free

Price is $22 USD

Wow, those are some hefty claims to live up to. But I have to admit, they are true to most of them.

The liner is very matte, and very black. I was loving the fact that it stayed true to color when lining my eyelid, being that it went all the way across my lid without going dry and I didn't have to go back over it to get a deep black. Speaking of deep black, this is the truest, deep, matte black eyeliner I think I have ever had.....so that's a plus for it.

It does give easy precision, I made a BEAUTIFUL wing with it, I posted it on Ulta and Sephora's website because it was so pretty.

a.jpg

Quick dry is an absolute YES, it's very quick to dry. I did my liner with the Benefit liner on one side and the other side with my NYX liquid liner and then did my mascara, and look at the mess the NYX made because it wasn't dried yet. It smudged all over my lid!!

IMG_6759.jpg

Fade, flake, bleed and smudge free.......yes, yes, yes, and yes!!

Now for my con...I only have one....I am in my upper 30s (depending on when you read this) and my eyelids are not as smooth as they once were in my teens and 20s. Therefore, I have to pull them tight to get a smooth line. It tends to skip over the wrinkles in my eyelid and get all jagged looking if I don't tug my eye lid tight. And, I'm not the biggest fan of having to do that to my eye every morning.

See the jagged-ness from not pulling my lid tight?

IMG_6443.JPG

My "go to" product that I use for getting a thin line on my top lash line (without the tug) is the NYX Strickly Vinyl Eyeliner with the brush tip. This is a black liquid eyeliner with a brush tip. You can get enough product on the brush that it basically fills in the "gaps" in your eyelid in order to keep the line smooth and free of the jagged edges look.

Because of the jagged edges that I get if I don't pull my lid taute, I end up having to make a thicker line than I do with the NYX.

You will see in the photo below the line on the left side is thicker than the the right side. The Benefit is the one on the left....and NYX is on the right.

1.JPG

The only problem with the NYX is that it's not waterproof, it's not matte, and while it is black, it's not the absolute deep black that the Benefit provides. I have honestly never had a black liner that's as true deep black line the Benefit.

Would I purchase this with my own money in my current situation?

So, my situation is that the hubby and I are very much middle class income family....we are not on the higher section of middle class income, we are not on the lower side of middle class either, we are smack dab in the middle....meaning, we have money to pay our bills and a tad extra to play with, but we can't get crazy or anything.

Now, question is, do I want to spend my "tad extra" on the Benefit liner? In my case, probably not. But all is not lost for others with this product. If I were younger with tighter lids, it would be a very different story. I would happily throw down the $22 for the liner in my current financial situation. I think this is a very high quality and well done product. I applaud Benefit for how well they did on the formula. I just wish they had this with a brush tip for us older gals.

So while I would not purchase this with my own money, I will still be using this liner. I have since been using my NYX liner to make the original line across my lid and then going in with the Benefit liner to make the wing.....it's near perfection!!

So, there you have it....I hope this was helpful for you. I am very thankful to have had the opportunity to try out this product and review it for you all. If you have any questions, feel free to leave them in the comment section below and I will answer to the best of my ability.

That's all I have for today, I hope you have a fantastic Wednesday!! Until next time, take care.

-Kim

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73