High end makeup that I will pay the high price for

in #makeup6 years ago

While my blog is geared towards affordable makeup from the drugstores, and to be quite honest, the rest of my life is geared the same way. There are however, sometimes when spending more money makes more sense for me.

pricey products cover.jpg

People have always told me, "Kim, never scrimp on the important things, especially things like toilet paper and paper towels". I did take that to heart by the way, we do use very soft and sturdy paper products for our hands and rear ends (did you really want to know that? Yuck)

pricey products second.jpg

Now that we are in a very uncomfortable silence, let's get back to the purpose of my post.

As you already know, I do cherish drugstore makeup. I feel that there are many products that are wonderful to use and are even better than the high priced ones. However, I do have a list of items that I WILL spend the high price for. So today I wanted to tell you a little about the products and why I do choose to purchase them.

First up is a foundation I found a couple years back in the summer time. It's the Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation. The retail price is $42.00

pricey products est dw.jpg

This was the very first high end foundation I had ever bought, and I am just now ready to buy my second bottle in three years. But I only use it in the summer months.

Here in Texas it gets very hot and very humid. This foundation has been the absolute best foundation I have ever tried at controlling the oil that I get throughout the day during the summer months. I will use it if we are going to be outside at a wedding, and event or if we go to a theme park and I want my makeup to stay on my face and not slide off. So while I hate having to pay the $42, I have yet to find a lower priced item to match the oil control power this one has.

Item number 2. It's another foundation....

pricey products ud found.jpg

This is the Urban Decay All Nighter Foundation and it retails for $40. This does not come close to controlling the oil to the Estee Lauder. But the coverage of this foundation is none to be reckoned with. It's an unbelievable coverage, so much in fact that I could hide anything on my face and that makes this a blessing of a product for me.

There is a down side to this foundation for me. I do get oily a little quicker when I wear this foundation than most other foundations I own. So I have to do some major prepping with an oil control primer before application and make sure to use a setting spray for oil control afterwards. But it's all completely worth the time I put into it and the money all because of the coverage and beautiful look it gives the skin.

While mentioning the setting spray, let's talk about item number 3...Urban Decay Setting Spray.

pricey products ud spray.jpg

This cost $32.00 but you can get it in a mini size for only $15, which is how I buy it. I again only use it in the summer months, and over the UD foundation I just mentioned. This does a great job at helping to control the oil production for me during the hot Summer. (Do you see a trend yet? LOL)

I usually get the regular or the de-slick because I cannot tell a difference in either one of them at oil control, they both work the exact same for me. How I use it is that I will actually spray my face with it first and then apply foundation and then set it with powder and spray again. That gives me the best chance of keeping my makeup from sliding off or breaking down. I also use this over the Estee Lauder for added protection when the heat gets in the 100s here in Texas.

Wow, I just realized how many face products I have. Unfortunately it continues. My next item is the It Cosmetics CC Cream. It retails for $38.00

pricey products it cc.jpg

I like this because of it's very high spf and that it's a lighter weight but fuller coverage style of foundation.

I like to use this when we go out to the lake or we are going to be outside because of the spf. And if I'm in a hurry in the morning and I don't want too much fuss going on with foundation and blending, etc., I will grab this. I like how quickly and easily it blends out on my skin using a sponge, brush or my hands. I don't use a moisturizer beforehand because this serves as that purpose as well.

It's not good at controlling the oil but its a nice lighter option than foundations and has a little better coverage than the drugstore BB creams, and again, it's a very fuss free product for me to apply.

Ok, last item and its not a skin product. It's the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner and it retails for $20.00

pricey products kat v line.jpg

Now, this does have a somewhat of a drugstore "dupe" for this liner, but I do feel they have a very important difference.... for me at least. The Physicians Formula Eye Booster Eye Pen is a near dupe to the Kat Von D and it's only $11.00

On the daily, I use the PF as my regular eyeliner. I love it, recommend it and have purchased multiples of it, because I use and enjoy it so much. The only difference I have found is that the Kat Von D is as near water-proof, cry proof and sweat proof as one can find.

I have actually referred to this as my "funeral liner" because of it's ability to stay put during very teary eyed moments. Sadly, this liner has been put to use in the past year from all of the funerals we had to attend. But it's also good for happy tears too.

I have owned this liner for I know over a year, but I don't believe it has been two years yet. I am just now needing to replace it. But like the other products, this one does not get used on a regular basis, it serves a single purpose in my collection and the Physician's Formula is my main go to.

And there is my list of products that I would spend the money on to have in my collection. I am always looking for products that are on the more affordable side but will perform the same as these above, but have yet to find them.

While these products work so well for me, they may not be good fit for everyone. So if you have items you love and will gladly fork over the money for, let me know in the comment section below.

I appreciate you being here with me and I hope you will come back and visit me again next week when we talk more makeup. Have a wonderful and safe weekend, see you next time.

Until then, take care!!

-Kim

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93