Kokie Cosmetics - Eye Shadow Pallet Review and Tutorial

in #makeup6 years ago

Well, here we are on the very last review for the Kokie Cosmetics line of products. It's on their nine pan eye shadow pallet.

kokie eye shadow cover.jpg

kokie eye shadow pallet swatch.jpg

Okie, dokie, let's get started. First up, the pallet I purchased is called 581 Classic Romance. I found it at my local Walmart for $10.00. Inside there are five matte colors, # 2, 3, 5, 8 & 9, and the four shimmers are # 1, 4, 6 & 7.

In total there are 8 pallets to choose from, but my pickings were slim at my local store. I am really looking for the one called Act Natural, to try out next, so I'm on the hunt and will let you know if I find it. But for now, let's talk about the pallet I have.

So let's see what Kokie says about their shadows...

Kokie's Claims:

"Applying eyeshadow beautifully is an art. You’re good at it, but sometimes you just want someone else to do it for you! We’ve taken the thought out of eye coordination with our 6 expertly matched eyeshadow palettes. Each palette contains nine perfectly paired shadows in a variety of finishes: matte, satin and shimmer. We’ve also made sure these sturdy plastic palettes snap shut so you don’t have any makeup explosions in your bag (we’ve all been there). These workable shades give you everything you need to create endless, artist worthy looks. There’s one for every mood: sultry, naturally beautiful, and wild; so have fun and get creative!

Buildable color
Color ranges in various finishes
Travel friendly!"

First off, they say there are "six expertly matched eye shadow pallets", well there are eight on their website. So they must have added a few more to their collection. But that has nothing to do with my review, I am just pointing that out.

Ok, so buildable color - yes, these can be built up and mixed for different variations of the color.
Color ranges in various finishes - yes the finishes range from matte to shimmer. I didn't have satin in the Modern Romance, but I see it in other pallets.

Travel friendly - yes, it's very compact and slim. I feel that the package is very sturdy and would hold up nicely in your bag and the closure is a nice snap shut type, however I have not put it in my bag yet, so I can't say for sure.

For my final thoughts:

I do like this pallet and the quality of it. Why do I not LOVE it? Well its because the colors do not vary enough to make each look more distinctively different. My look today looks way too close to the look I first did with the pallet and I did a lot more work with it. I like my pallets to have the ability to create multiple looks that are vastly different and this particular one did not do that for me. But that says nothing about the quality of the shadows. The quality is velvety soft and easy to work with. I love the shimmers because of how shimmery they are and the ability to create "one shadow" looks with them is a very big plus in my book.

Would I purchase again? Yes, in fact I am looking at two more that I want to try out. I think the quality of the shadows, durability of the packaging and the low price point make this a very exceptional pallet and value.

Below is the look I created today, and I have two more looks created from other posts that I will link to as well.

kokie eye shado.jpg

I used the matte purple in my crease and blended out

kokie eye shadow creas.jpg

I wanted a darker look today, so I took the eggplant purple and put it all over my lid and blended up

kokie eye shadow lid.jpg

Still trying to make it dark and sultry, I used the dark matte brown color on my outer V and on the outside of my lower lash line.

kokie eye shadow outer v and lash line.jpg

I find that when I do a dark eye with really dark colors on my lid, I will use the brightest color and place it on the inner tear duct and about a quarter way over onto my lid. This just keeps the purples from getting too close to my inner eye and making me look like I was hit in the face.

kokie eye shadow inner corner.jpg

I used the matte cream shade to lighten up my brow bone and help blend the crease some more.

kokie eye shadow brow bone.jpg

After adding dark brown pencil liner to my lower water line, I used the crease shade again and ran it along my lower lash line to smudge it out.

kokie eye shadow lower lash line.jpg

I applied black liquid liner to my top lash line and then many coats of mascara to complete the eyes. For lips I used the Kokie Matte lipstick in Rome (I seriously LOVE this color!!) and the Kokie Blush pallet in Demure (I mixed the two lightest shades together for my blush).

IMG_8601.JPG

And there you have my look. The other two looks you can find the link below:

https://steemit.com/makeup/@adayat523/kokie-cosmetics-one-brand-tutorial

https://steemit.com/makeup/@adayat523/kokie-cosmetics-one-shadow-look-and-the-last-katy-perry-lip-gloss-use-in-the-tutorial

For my final thoughts on the entire Kokie Line, well I couldn't be happier with the products I tried. My only con comes from the eyeliner pen. That one product out of all of the ones I tried was the only fail. My stand outs were the foundation brush, mascara, highlight and matte lipsticks. Therefore, in a nutshell Kokie Cosmetics have my full and complete support of their line and I will continue to purchase more products as find them.

That's all I have for today, I hope you enjoyed my reviews of all of the Kokie products over the past many weeks, and will continue to stop by and visit me here at 523!! I have had such a fun time here on Steemit and I am so excited to continue trying, reviewing, and showing off looks that I create with you. And of course, they always must be affordable and easy for me to find.

I hope you all have a beautiful Tuesday, and I will see you again tomorrow with some more makeup talk.
Until then, take care!!

-Kim

Sort:  

You're so pretty. This looks nice and I would love to try it out, but the issue is that, I don't know how to pick my color from an online store. I prefer going to a shop to test myself.

You did a good review of the product and made me fall for it.

Thank you for your sweet comment!! Yes, I agree that it's very hard to buy online. I am very fortunate that I have these in my local stores to see first hand. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed my review, and very grateful you stopped by and left a comment. Thank you for your support!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99