How to | COMPLETELY FIX your broken pressed powder

in #makeup6 years ago (edited)


   So I know I am not the only one who has seen her pressed powder product (be it face powder, eyeshadow, bronzer or highlighter) plummet to its death, throw herself to rescue it, and not be there in time...and then weep, look up to the skies and yell:

Source


    Mmm, no? Just me? Ok. 

   No but seriously, you all know that feeling of sadness when a beloved powder makeup product just smashes to the floor and breaks. But..

   Right, enough with the memes. Here is what you will need to fix your makeup:

   Rubbing alcohol

   Tea spoon, spatula, something you can flatten stuff with

  Paper to potentially make a mess on

   Patience


1. Mush it to oblivion

   Grab your spoon and - I know it hurts - crush your powder even further until it resembles loose powder. Try and make it as fine as possible.

   As you can see, I have a broken bronzer and a broken face powder. This Essence one is chalk white but is actually translucent, so I love it to set all my makeup (plus it really leaves you matte, and God knows ma greasy-ass face needs that). Problem is, I also have this Bare Minerals loose powder that I never use because it's way too dark for me, so I wanted to combine it with the white one to get more use out of it.

   This is what your powder should look like in terms of pulverisation.


2. Bring on the vodka-I mean, alcohol.

   Pour a little rubbing alcohol into the lid and then onto your powder. Grab your spoon and stir it in. The consistency you want is paste-ish. With your spoon, try and distribute the product until it's as flat as you can make it.

   Don't worry if you put in too much alcohol, it will evaporate anyway. And no, when you use it your powder will not be full of alcohol now because, I repeat, IT WILL EVAPORATE. 


3. Hit me Christian Grey!

   Right now, your compact must look all uneven and gross. It won't stay that way, don't worry. We have to take out all the air that could've been caught in the mixture, so very gently lift your compact about 1 inch and drop it or tap it lightly against the table or surface you're working on. Repeat. You might see bubbles start to surface, this means you're doing it right. Stop when your goop looks completely flat and pretty.

   (This step can splatter and get a bit messy, so you better be using that paper I suggested).


4. High and dry

   Leave your compact open on a flat surface where it won't be disturbed. Wait for about 8hrs (I always leave mine overnight just to make sure) and it should now look like this:

   If you want, gently press down with your thumb to make sure it's reeeally pressed tight in there, and BOOM! Here you have your good as new pressed powder.

   I was pleasantly surprised to find out this actually worked the first time I tried it, and ever since I have never had to throw away a broken compact powder again. It even works with highlighters, although it's more of a mess and you have to really press tight.

   Try it out and let me know how it worked out! It's so freakin' easy.

.

.

.


   I hope you enjoyed this little trick. Any suggestions, opinions or requests? Comment below!  💬 





Discord Link



Sort:  

@claritagigi this is awesome a "diy" tag or "lifehack" tag can be used for posts like this.

I loved it.

Dante is here No Fear

Cheers

Thank you! Omg you have no idea how I struggled to come up with fitting tags haha. I will change one to "diy", you're right :D

CONGRATULATIONS!
Your post was included in my Friday DIY Day Curation post today

Oh, thank you very much! ^^ Quite appreciated :D

So simple once you hear it! Oh... so many wasted powders 😭😭

Oh yeah! Truly truly easy to replicate the procedure. I knooow right? When I heard about this my heart cracked a bit T.T

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61