Magnetic eyelashes - yep, they are a thing and I tried them!

in #makeup7 years ago

I'm a mom of two who works full-time. I have little time to do make-up...so much so that my eyeliner is a tattoo so that I save 1 min every morning on having to draw those pesky lines (that's 365 minutes a year...over six hours...you get my thinking!).

When I saw magnetic eyelashes advertised, I thought I would watch the video - what's not to love? No mascara would save me 30 seconds a day, or three hours a year! It looked simple enough...little lash fibers with a magnet on each upper and lower strip so that your own lashes are effectively sandwiched in between them. The video was literally a case of apply the top ones, bring the bottom one close and it snaps on - done!

I decided to do what I always do when I want to try something novel...I ordered it on Aliexpress. If I really did like it enough, I would order the originals later.

Cue arrival in the post ten days later from China. I tried them on with no other makeup on because I wanted to see if the 'zero to hero' claims were true.

This is them:
IMG_3698.jpg

And here is a shot of one eye with them and one without:
IMG_3692.jpg!

And here is how they are packaged:
IMG_3691.jpg

All in all, they are:

  • Easy to apply, if you can see your lashes clearly and have a steady hand
  • Likely to come loose in the wind (especially Auckland wind)
  • Ok for a really 'vavavoom' look, but a bit much for everyday wear (I like to look like a natural beauty!)
  • Likely to include dodgy glue (perhaps that's only the cheap version I bought!) - my eyes got sore after a while...
  • Prone to tearing away from the magnets rendering the setup useless (again, perhaps that's only the cheap version I bought!)

Could I live without them? Yes...infact I've used them once...

Could I live with them? Maybe...if I was a stay at home in no wind and move your neck slowly to avoid them sliding off kinda gal (I'm not!).

All in all, great invention...for other people, not necessarily me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jodywrites! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jodywrites! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56