You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Binance Moving to Malta - Island Nation Known for Tax Evasion and Money Laundering

in #malta6 years ago

It seems to me that blockchain technology can be both hyper anonymized and hyper transparent and I honestly haven't figured out which is its greater strength. Which makes this situation in Malta both puzzling and fascinating to me.

Sort:  

Yes, it's hard to know what to think about the move to Malta. In a way I feel like I'm raining on people's parade, especially since the markets have been in a slump lately. But, I've been examining Malta for quite some time now and thought I should point out the endemic corruption in that country.

I'm having real trouble with this transparent/private dichotomy.

I'm far more OK with my interactions online being public than I am having them sucked up, warehoused in some yuge data silo, and experimented on. I'm thorny and loud when it comes to politics and I had a very successful guerrilla piece on Social Security that was picked up as a PR front by DFA, AARP, and some large unions. Shuttered up the Privatization of Social Security Scam on the strength of a blog post. Score 1 for the little guy. I don't want shit hanging out in the shadows to be dropped on unsuspecting citizens for social control.

My point is that I'd rather have all that shit out in public; my uncomfy Leftist commentary has and will cost me business. It's kind of how I'm rolling right now. k9disc... that's me pretty much everywhere.

Anyway... great point about the transparency/privacy thing. I'm struggling with it. I'm also having a problem with the split between the libertarian and monetarists concept of currency, value, and markets.

I'm a strong proponent of regulated markets. But it's kind of like the private/transparent thing. I want privacy, but I'll take transparency and public access in lieu of corporate exploitation and profiteering. I want well regulated markets, and a well regulated economy, but I'll take a non-rigged economy over what we've got now any day.

peace~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87