Man Stuff - Campfires

in #man6 years ago

Campfires are one of my favorite things – they are so peaceful, relaxing and a great way to forget the problems/pressures of a daily grind. The chance to be outdoors at night and feel the warmth and smell of the fire bring me a strange level of fulfilment. Add a beer or two, and you will feel yourself getting “unwound” real quick.

41103DB3-A186-4DE1-9775-BEF8F8BDFB29.png

I live in a city, but am still able to have a good fire in the backyard in my fire pit. I could stay by the fire all night – as opposed to my wife who humors me by hanging out with me, but really wants to go back to the house after an hour or two.

In my opinion, a man’s skill set should include being able to make a good campfire (without using lighter fluid!). There are actually many different types of camp fires, and many different ways of starting them. You can make them burn faster with more flames, or slower with fewer flames – you need to fit the right fire to the right situation.

Even though I feel fires are relaxing, there may actually be some science behind the feelings - I found this snippet from article online at discovermagazine.com where they measured blood pressure in adults before and after being subject to campfire sounds – here was the conclusion: “Results indicated consistent blood pressure decreases in the fire-with-sound condition, particularly with a longer duration of stimulus, and enhancing effects of absorption and prosociality. Findings confirm that hearth and campfires induce relaxation as part of a multisensory, absorptive, and social experience. Enhancements to relaxation capacities in the human social brain likely took place via feedback involving these and other variables.”

There you have it, research shoes that campfires can actually have health benefits, in addition to being extremely fun!

Get out there and make a fire!

Brian

Sort:  

I have that gigantic bush in my garden waiting to be hacked, dried and of course burnt. I can't wait to get lost in my thought staring at that fire for hours. We apparently get into a hypnosis state after few seconds of Television , I am pretty convinced that the same principle apply to fire.
I like to call it "hot meditation" :)

The chance to be outdoors at night and feel the warmth and smell of the fire bring me a strange level of fulfilment. Add a beer or two, and you will feel yourself getting “unwound” real quick.

And to strengthen the sense of fulfilment all of this should be performed in a quite forest or somewhere on the bank of a river or lake)

I've always loved sitting by a nice fire, but I never knew that it was a biological thing. Very interesting post!

I love campfires too. And now I know there's scientific proof that it actually relaxes you. Sitting by one while you're in the backyard is a good substitute, but there's nothing like a campfire while camping. Ahh, some hotdogs and sauerkraut. Sounds like a good time. Hike 3 miles into the woods and take a left at the big tree with the mossy branch. Then go 250 yards. We'll have the fire ready for you!

interesting post
I didn't know that it has such a relaxing effect
I like watching the fire in the fireplace that I even made a video of it just in case my husband doesn't light it
no wonder my husband always falls asleep when he reads a book in front of our fireplace

I love the image, I love the bonfires I like the heat a lot, I think they are very relaxing because of the sound they produce

I can confirm that watching fire is one of the best relaxation practices there is. I like the sound of a burning wood and the comfort it offers. It makes me think for above-average things, spiritual things. Thanks for reminding me !

Nice sight, @brian.rrr ; I love your blog, I hope you check mine. I'm following you!

It's just a one beautiful, peaceful, and nice post) thank you)💜

There's just something in fire that attracts humans.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77