Mantis Shrimp

in #mantis6 years ago (edited)

So this month I will finally have a Mantis Shrimp as a pet!

Super excited.

For those that do not know the awesomeness of these highly aggressive crustaceans please read this...

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/mantis_shrimp

Keeping with the fact that Australia is home to some of the most dangerous animals on earth it should come as no surprise that more than half of the over 400 species of mantis shrimp call Australian waters home.

They lurk anywhere from shallow reefs to 1500 metres down in the dark of the ocean floor.

The mantis shrimp creates a flash of light with is power punch, and can literally boil the water around its strike.

https://www.advancedaquarist.com/2013/5/inverts

My wife is terrified and will not let me keep her in anywhere near her.

SO my question to the steemit community is this?

Do you have one or know of anyone that does?

AND

Do you have any tips for me on tank, enviroment, feed etc etc etc?

Please share if you do.

Peace

Sort:  

Congratulations @satos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful little creature! I don't really believe in owning animals anymore, but not here to start a discussion about that. Just thought I'd stop in and say hi. Glad to see you're still posting. :)

Thanks mate - I am of the same mindset. I endeavor to take better care of them than could be expected by the normal pet owner. In the case of the Mantis Shrimp - they are considered pests in the fish trade and usually killed on site. I once found them for sale by the ton on Alibaba (dead ones of course). I am also a parrot "owner" and it breaks my heart daily knowing he will never see the "real world" that he was born to flourish in. As a result we have let our parrot become not a caged pet but an active member of the family. To an extreme where I am now not able to enter certain parts of my own home as he has claimed the entire half of the house as "his" territory. I have been banned from many a pet site in the past for pointing out the limitations of humans "owning" animals. Glad that is your mindset mate. Hope you are well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66