You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Build And Engaging Audience By Thinking Out Of The Box

in #mapsters6 years ago

It's really too bad that we don't have a mechanism to choose our followers, or at least have some way of excepting them. Otherwise, there's always going to be a larger percentage of followers that are simply not engaging.

However, educating people as to what constitutes a good follower is definitely helpful, as well as how those being followed can keep and cultivate the followers they do have.

I wonder how many people who follow others keep it within an actual doable amount? Following between 50-100 people, depending on how often they post and resteem, seems to be ideal for me. I want time enough to pay attention to what I'm reading so I can determine curation and whether or not to comment.

Sort:  

That sounds ideal, the possibly to accept my new followers. I think I have many follow me follow you followers, as well as bots and also a bunch of death followers.

So now it looks like I have 450 followers. But in reality it's even below 50.

Btw, your comments are really to long 😋😜

Sorry if you think my comments are too long. I'm not trying to pad them. I'm trying to complete them. If you really do feel that way, you know, you certainly don't have to read them. That way you can better spend you time elsewhere.

I'm lucky if I have 20 followers who are real and actually following me. Funny thing is, if some of them are bots, they don't regularly upvote, so I'm not sure why they're following me in the first place.

I was just making a bad joke about your long comments. If you shorten them a bit it would give the others a chance to win the 2nd league so once in a while 😀

I have a theory about why those bots start following you. That's actually also on my to do list to write a post about it.
I hope I made you curious now so you will add me as number 31 to your follower list?

But that won't be necessary, if you like I can reveal it now. Would you like me to do so?

I see. I've been thinking about winning the leagues for a few weeks now and wondering whether or not people are having fun still if one person or another ends up dominating them for a while. So, is this suggestion of yours yours alone, or would you say it's a commonly held opinion among other members of the league? Meaning, you've actually talked about it. Or, is this you're own observation.

Obviously, you're free to reveal whatever you want. I think it would be good to write a post about it, too. Either way, it's your choice.

As it is, from what I can tell, at least to start, the first bots are set to autofollow immediately, and then the next groups seem to come on as certain thresholds are met.

It was only a joke from my side. I don't think anyone bothers that you won it quite a few times now.

I could imagine some people would. But in the end it is some kind of game, with mainly a big social aspect that is much more important to my opinion.
And of course you get a small financial rewards. But for $15 it is a very big time investment as we all know that it's close to a full time job.

I personally enjoy to see you set a unbeatable record in consecutive wins. So let's see how many you will end up with?

Well, we'll see if I keep the string alive or not. If I don't win this week, you will know why. I've been sick with something (aching all over, sour stomach, coughing) since Wednesday evening. So, between trying to sleep it off, not being able to otherwise stay in my chair for normal periods of time, and finding it harder to concentrate than normal, it's not adding up to a win right now.

Then, this morning didn't help any with Steemit being down for a couple of hours.

I agree. The leagues are less about the STEEM than it is about the social aspect, While the STEEM is nice, the time investment is much higher. However, I have started to see some benefit from doing it because of getting out there farther, and people seeing who I am and what I do, so I think even the financial aspects of the leagues go beyond just the weekly awards.

In the beginning I made the mistake of simply following everyone who wrote a good article. As a result, my feed is so cluttered with things I’m not interested in that I never use it. I’ve set a few people I really want to follow in Gina on Discord.
I once started to trim down my list of people I follow, but it was actually a slow and boring task, so I gave up pretty quickly.

I should really make time for it, though.
(Although I think I know so many people by now my list would still be very long)

Conclusion: I’m the worst follower in the world. I’m the one you don’t want.

Oh, I don't know. It's working out pretty good so far. :)

I have a few people set up on GINAbot, but I probably should get back in there and revamp it. I'm currently following only 30 people. I learned my lesson on Twitter. And since this is much more long form, ability to write and subject matter is more important. I'm not in it for a meme or a link to an article somewhere.

Well, maybe one of these days you'll get to start pruning your list. Probably about the same time you can get to gardening and other things. Light at the end of the tunnel is up ahead there somewhere. We can only hope it's sooner than later. :)

Are you writing all these comments only below posts from about 30 Steemonians?

I don't know. I haven't been keeping track of that. I've been trying to get out to wherever I can, so when posts come in on my own feed and I feel like I can contribute to them, I comment. Otherwise, when those run out, I'm looking for other posts.

So, haven't been purposefully doing anything as far as how many different users' posts I comment on. Why do you ask? Have you been keeping track for me? :)

To be honest I didn't really check you out yet. But you're on my list, together with 322 other items to do.

I just like numbers and analyzing. So I figured it would be like a miracle of you only follow 30 people and then write hundreds of comments per week. In the other hand, sometimes we need only one post to write like 10+ comments.

Well, okay. If I had to guess, the circle I tend to comment on is not quite as wide as the one I end up voting in. My vote circle has been over a 100 that last two times out, so my comment circle is probably somewhat less than that, like somewhere between 80-100. Again, a guess. I only keep track of the number of votes and the number comments.

Talking about numbers, there is something else I wonder about. Did you invest any first money in Steem?

If I remember well, you have much more SP as @lynncoyle1. However I still believe that both of you are somewhat undervalued. And probably a few more of the top commenters.

Did you invest any first money in Steem?

I'm not sure what you mean by 'first' but yes, I did invest some money in STEEM. I was getting tired of dropping dust votes on everything (before I even knew what dust votes were), so I decided to start investing. I did it over the course of three months. So, the bulk of what you see in my wallet is investment.

True! Let’s hope sooner :0)

I also started to unfollow people. Sometimes it's quite difficult as I don't know why I started to follow someone. And I also didn't want to unfollow Dutch speaking Steemonians. But as of this week I'm also unfollowing Dutch speaking. Cause otherwise I would keep to many.

I think I went down from 275 to 200. And I will continue until I'm below 100. As I hope that will be doable.

Someone gave me the advice to
Unfollow all people you don’t immediately recognize them name frm. I’m still in doubt whether that was good advice...
i’d still be far over 100, I guess

I first unfollow people that really spam my feed. In 1 or 2 weeks I might try to go through the remaining list and recognize names that I can also wipe out. Before I do I will shortly check their profiles. In the end this should really save me lots of time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91