The Day I Volunteer for Borneo Half Marathon 2020

in #marathon4 years ago


Borneo Half Marathon 2020 is not the same to Borneo Marathon 2020 that is scheduled on 21st June 2020 but is organised by the same organising team. The purpose of organising Borneo Half Marathon 2020 is to introduce those who wanted to try running a marathon to go for this first. At least that was what I understand. Even the route for the event is different from the Borneo Marathon. I know because I’ve been volunteering for Borneo Marathon since 2014. This event is also in conjunction with 10th Kota Kinabalu City Celebration.

Usually, I’ll am asked to volunteer as a Radio Operator (RO) on bicycle patrolling or bicycle sweeper. But for today’s event, I’ll be at a static station. So I’m taking the advantage to brush up on my other hobby, photography. I’m not the official photographer for the event though, but thank you for those who strike a pose for me.

If you happen to know anyone on this post, ask them to find it here.

I arrived at my first station, which was at Karamunsing Station, about 4:45. In time for me to have a quick breakfast, before the flag off at 5 am.

It does not take that much time to set up my station. I'm there to make sure runner don't stray away from their intended route.

Note to my self, always check your camera’s setting before you start shooting. I was so confident that mine would work fine that when I start to shoot, it asked me to set the date and time. That’s the first time it happens though.

I move to Istiadat Roundabout after the sweeper passed my station. But before that, a quick stop at Masjid Bandaraya for Subuh prayer.

I arrived at my second station at about 6 am, or slightly early than that. I was still a little bit dark. This is where it gets tricky for me. I’m not quite sure what setting I need to use for dark shoot, without needing a speed light. I use it when I was at the first station. I don't have that problem on my P7000 though. That camera has excellent night shoot setting. But then again, I did get a decent night shoot at a different event. Not complaining, I have not actually mastered using my D5300.

  • Women Lead

Well, that’s the learning curve for you. I need to find more time to play around with my D5300. I took this photo while waiting for the marathoner to reach my station.


Pusat Pentadbiran Kerajaan Negeri Sabah

Ahh, the pacers. When I see them, I know I will be closing down my station very soon.

Volunteering work for this event I would say easy to handle. Most of the RO has been doing this work for years now. About 2,000 take part and all made it back without any injury. Congratulation for those who made it to the finishing line. For those who didn't make it, don't give up, please try again.


Part of RO volunteer.

Selfie but I forgot to change the aperture.

See you again at the next event.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.northborneogeek.com/2020/02/borneo-half-marathon-2020/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68500.64
ETH 3751.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65