Flying mushrooms and liquor tripssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #marchmadness5 years ago

"I'm sorry I'll have to call you back. Something terrible is about to happen.”
@owasco said "They are throwing portabello mushrooms against the wall"
A little bit confused I put down the phone.

She was helping the luv bug with a community project, where little kids get to cook in schools. Why she was using portobello mushrooms, I didn’t know. I decided to give @mr-neil a call.

“What are you cooking?” He asked.
“I'm not cooking anything,” I replied. “I'm going to Jerry’s. @mrnightmare89 invited me over”

We went out for lunch, yet I already ate my macaroni fruit salad. "What would you like to eat?” I asked @heartbeat1515, who joined me, @tristancarax and @iamjadeline from the west part of Steem City to the @freewritehouse. "This is my first time doing this after I read 2 of @aejackson post. Would like to give it a try and see how it goes.” Was the response.

Although the afternoon sun was still hanging in the sky, the buildings around the @freewritehouse seemed to suck all its energy, leaving everything feeling cold and dirty grey. “Get in quickly” @felt.buzz shouted from the second floor “The rain is about 30 seconds away”.

It was Ash Wednesday and @wonderwop had prepared some amazing specials.
The specials were cheese enchiladas or chile relleno stuffed with cheese, the Catholic Specials. @carolkean had made lasagne and @improv also had a hot fix ready.

"How I would love to create a meal.“ @tristancarax said "I'm afraid I'm going to mess up somewhere."
"I’m pretty sure @d00k13 can get you set up in the partiko mentoring system, they reward you with every try.” I responded as we sat down at @grandiosae’s regular guests table. We loved the table because he often wrote down personal poems on his table at Jerry’s. Today’s poem read
"Let us eat, come, sweet
Little lady, dwarf in heart
Come, taste of me love
It's not limited by height."

We started our table conversation and @iamjadeline was reminding us of an food app of last year. “We had an app called "Let's Eat" where we could use it when we dined at a restaurant to write a review and the post would appear on Steemit."

"Do you also get rewards for eating, like with @aejackson Let’s eat?" @heartbeat1515 asked.
"I am not sure how the progress is as I could no longer find it on my Google Playstore.” @iamjadeline replied sadly.

While discussing different Steem dapps @botefarm joined the conversation. “How are things going with the minivan?" I asked.
"Not so great, I still has to get fixed. To make the matter worse I presently have no job, just trying to manage myself and see how I could gather few money.” Next thing we knew we were discussion potential Steem projects how to help fund personal projects as well.

@wakeupkitty, @balticbadger and @mr-neil had joined our table and @improv was taking orders.
"maybe whipped cream, but pure whipped cream, extra fluffy with no added suger. Mmm. That would be tasty. Yes, that's what I want."

"Son, you don’t want to spoil your appetite.” @d00k13 laughed while walking by.

@balticbadger was not looking to great. It was if he was utterly unaware of his surroundings. The people standing around him were just a blur of colors, melting into the backdrop of existence.
"What’s wrong?” I asked without getting a response.
“I think he has not eaten at all. Not even had a taken a single bite. For the whole day” @wakeupkitty responded.

“It’s not the latest fad in weight loss right? – intermittent fasting?” @fitinfunfood asked. "I am following a few people on steem and more on fb who are doing this now.”
That couldn’t be it. I personally did intermittent fasting for 6 months and lost 20 pounds. Never once looked the way @balticbadger looked.
“I think I know what it is” @dranuvar said while refilling our drinks “I gave him his usual, a strong liquor. It’s pretty heavy when you haven’t eaten.”

@balticbadger slowly came back to himself while @carolkean started to serve the plates.

@carolkean, your lasagne smells heavenly,” @mrnightmare89 said. He saw the faces of his freewrite brothers and sisters that were eager to eat, then he said "okay, let's eat."

Meanwhile, something started to smell real bad. Almost burned. “@improv!” @wonderwop yelled from the kitchen. @improv glanced around "OMG I just realized I never set a timer. I must be tired.”


This is part 5 of my March Madness freewrite novel for the @freewritehouse.

Read the other parts here:
1.A Night at Jerry’s
2.The audition for Saturday Night dancers
3.The Meat and Gravy that wasn’t
4.500 Shades of Freewrite
5.Much Ado About A Minivan

Word count: 739 words
March Madness total: 4106


The Writers (or should we say the poor, afflicted MAD people)

@kaelci
@ireenchew
@mariannewest
@kaerpediem
@linnyplant
@aislingcronin
@balticbadger
@wakeupkitty
@juliamulcahy
@carolkean
@jeanlucsr
@freedomtowrite
Be sure to follow @freewritehouse for more March Madness.


This story includes sentence of and/or references to the following writers/stories:

@wakeupkitty > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wakeupkitty/marchmadness-day-6-qxdge0g7
@balticbadger > https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@balticbadger/freewritehouse-march-madness-chapter-6-lets-eat-uwnlcpqm
@owasco > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/day-502-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-let-s-eat
@mrnightmare89 > https://partiko.app/@mrnightmare89/freewrite-lets-eat-yms2xpo7
@grandiosae > https://partiko.app/@grandiosae/let-us-eat-a-freewrite-poetry-kmmo95qg
@botefarm > https://steemit.com/busy/@botefarm/the-proposition-a-5-minutes-freewrite
@iamjadeline > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@iamjadeline/let-s-eat-or-5-minute-daily-freewrite-by-mariannewest-dc7388807759e
@heartbeat1515 > https://partiko.app/@heartbeat1515/freewrite-lets-eat-3bsfz9hx
@felt.buzz > https://steemit.com/freewritehouse/@felt.buzz/lets-eat-a-five-minute-freewrite-8qhr8nnk
@wonderwop > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/day-502-freewrite-wednesday-let-s-eat
@tristancarax > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@tristancarax/let-s-eat-day-502-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday
@aejackson > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@aejackson/let-s-eat-5-minute-freewrite
@improv > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@improv/let-s-eat-5minutefreewrite
@d00k13 > https://partiko.app/@d00k13/prompt-of-the-day-lets-eat-trying-to-get-two-helpings-of-pie-rsfvalkf
@fitinfunfood > https://steemit.com/busy/@fitinfunfood/freewrite-day-502-let-s-eat
@mr-neil > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mr-neil/a-stitch-and-a-witch-2-let-s-eat-4f9e3e6ca73e1
@carolkean > https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@carolkean/march-madness-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-day-501-minivan-day-502-prompt-let-s-eat
@dranuvar > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@dranuvar/5-minute-freewrite-day-502-let-s-eat

Want to be part of this story simply join @mariannewest’s 5 minute freewrite.


Let’s built #SteemAwareness, connect on Twitter!
Steemians on Twitter


#Lobi
@jeanlucsr

Special shoutout to @zord189 for this awesome signature

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hahah, funny I really like doing the fasting thing. But yeah I would get sick from the liquor!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha.. you have @dranuvar to thank for that. He's the bar manager, so whatever he throws at me in his freewrite is what you're getting in this story 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I know where the food goes ...

Lovey work.

Thanks! Glad you like it!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's great;/!

Posted using Partiko Android

You forgot your timer again!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great written story and I am happy we are finally allowed to eat. I can smell the food over here.
I wonder if @improv has a timer at all..

I wonder what your novel will look like in the end. One thing is clear you are observing us 😅

Haha.. I'm observing quite a lot indeed 😅. I think it will be a compilation of short stories with the occasional reference to an earlier episode.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great 31 steem bedtime stories

Posted using Partiko Android

About that... might cheat a little bit today and make one long ass story instead of 4 short ones. Verdict isn't out yet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing @jeanlucsr. Thank you for including me..

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy to include you. Welcome to the @freewritehouse!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your warmth welcome. I still don't quite understand what to do yet especially the weekend prompt but I'm going to have fun learning.

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't worry about the weekend prompt. Took me a month before I joined that one. Daily prompt is perfect to start with.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, darned burnt food. You are quite wise with how you use so many freewriters in your stories. :) I'm lucky if I get past 4 names. #mmfan

Basically it's the format that allows me to get almost all the freewriters of that particular day in.

I take at least one line out of every freewrite that was written with the prompt of the day. If it fits, I'll use more. Most of the times, especially when 15+ writers join in, there is a clear pattern. And for the first freewrite I actually did have to go through the bio's and old posts to create some character background.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are quite wise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84