You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March Madness

in #marchmadness5 years ago

I tried NaNoWriMo quite a few times and never quite got there, until last November... with the success of last November behind me, I thought that I could totally do this month too! :) Turns out life doesn't always let it happen, and it didn't help that I don't really like my characters or the direction I'm going.

For me, I made a last minute switch to turn my story into a semi-post-apocalyptic thing instead of a magical fantasy thing and I regret that hugely now. But at the same time, I wrote around 12,000 words that I wouldn't have written otherwise and I can still DO something with those words!

You did quite a lot!! And you created a protagonist that, as you said, you can explore. :) Who knows what her future will bring!

I'll be curious to see if @freewritehouse try and do another Madness in November, this time alongside NaNoWriMo once more, and maybe you could give it another try. I know I'll be trying... again!! Haha. :)

And most importantly, I can stop feeling the pressure and get back to feeling the pleasure of writing. That is, after all, my number one reason for writing. I do it to light myself up.

That's a huge thing also and I can't agree more!! Enjoy your craft!

:) :)

Sort:  

Hey @kaelci, thanks for dropping by!

I am super grateful for all that this opportunity has given me. It's been a fun run! But, I guess, I just ran out of steam/steem.

Still, I'm really proud of what I did achieve and now I'm looking forward to pursuing my other love: reading. I'll be dropping by your "semi-apocalyptic thing" real soon.

:D

If you'd like to find them easier instead of scrolling through steem, I have them all here:

https://steem.kaelci.net/marchmadness/

:)

Alas, they'll remain unfinished! But I am contemplating how to rewrite them in my original plan of magic and wonder rather than coronal mass ejections and despair! haha

I completely understand running out of steam/steem. I decided over the weekend, when I did the weekendfreewrite, that I can't keep forcing myself to write something I have no interest in. Also feel reeeeally guilty because I started this march madness and can't even finish it myself!

I think @balticbadger and @wakeupkitty are going to have quite the SBI payday come the end of the month!!! 😉😀😁

No reason to feel quilty you gave me the drive to try something I never did before and I force myself to finish it. May and June I will be in hospital and don't know how I feel or what I am able to do so.

So I am grateful to you and am sure your books will be great 💖

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! I hope one day to read more of your stuff. That's the thing about #marchmadness it takes it all out of you. So hard to read and comment, but I'm trying! I'm just a little obsessed with my own writing at the moment. Thanks so much for all the support so far!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Magic and Wonder sounds just the plan! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66