You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March Madness - The Crumpled Letter Part Eight

in #marchmadness5 years ago

I'm not a nail person, but admire the dedication Deirdre has to the craft, and to herself. She seems a placid peaceful sort. Can't remember what her relationship is to Doris though. I'll have to go back.

Sort:  

Same here (not a nail person) but the way Deirdre gets involved in this little task to ease her anxiety is another great "telling detail." It takes a Jamesian touch to carry a story forward with only a manicure as the action. Maybe later on the scene could be revisited with an eye to more action, but for now, it's just right.

Funny, I'm not a nail person either, but I know many women who are. I have a friend, like Deirdre, who spends hours doing her nails and creating little designs. ;)

No wonder you're so skilled at describing the procedure - you must have seen your friend in action. :) (Why am I not surprised a fellow author isn't into manicures...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59359.30
ETH 3007.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75