MARCH MADNESS -DAY 1

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

I have been quite busy and I said i was going to participate in the free write march madness!!!

Thanks to the PHCN, electricity has been so horrible recently. But nothing will stop me from participating.
If you don't know what the free write march madness is about. Click on the link below.

https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@freewritehouse/march-madness-day-1-prompt-in-the-club

It's the fourth day of the march madness but here's my day 1. I hope to get all completed before the end of today.

Day 1 prompt : In the club

- The Awolowo's family-

I ambled to the kitchen, still drowsy. I stretched while trying to get a better view of our enormous kitchen. It was really big. Some restaurants in Lagos will not be able to compare our kitchen to theirs. There we a lot of utensils
we had never used. It had a wooden Floor; a walnut hard wax oil finish Tile. And it was always sparkling. I will give Sheri kudos for that. Three huge refrigerators that were always fully stocked. This was because of fathers impromptu visitors. More visitors came around when he was at home since father travels like a bird, always on the go. The first day grandma came to our place she had accused dad of being wasteful. She said a family of 7 in Lagos stays in this kind of place where father wasted on a kitchen. I wonder why she wouldn't let go off her other peoples live. Always comparing and thinking her decisions where the best. She complained about everything everyone thought was normal. She was the reason I was in the kitchen at 4am to wash dishes used last night even though we had a maid.

I never had anything to do with the kitchen before grandma came. Unless, mom wants me to get the maid; Sheri, for her. But things changed when grandma got here. She accused mom of making me indolent. I could remember her words in our native language; Yoruba.

"Mà ba omo yii jé" (Don't spoil her)

"She is old enough to do her laundries and wash the dishes," grandma rebuked mother scornfully.

"Mummy, it so she can concentrate on her studies," mum defended me.

"My son, your husband, helped me with my fufu sales when he was young. I was a single mother and I didn't have much. He hawked for 3 hours everyday, that didn't stop him from achieving all he had today." Grandma retorted.

Mom had winked at me to go inside as they dragged the argument to and fro.

Mom had to give in because grandma had reported to her my father when he got back. He had persuaded mother to give in for peace to reign in the house.

I wished father had told her No. I wished he could have defended me. Here I wa cleaning at 4am instead of getting some sleep. I tried sorting out the dishes and started cleaning. I won't stress myself, Sheri was going to rewash them later in the day. I had caught her doing so last sunday, she said the pans were still oily.I was glad she didn't tell grandma.

I can't wait to get to school. My final class in senior secondary school after which I get to go to the university. Then, I would have my freedom, I would be free of all duties, chores and grandma's query.

I smiled at the thought of that. The excoriation times will soon be over. The sky grumbled outside as if it was agreeing with my thought. I peeped out side through the window, it was breezy and the sky grumbled louder. It's going to rain. I love the rain. Everywhere would be cool. I finished up with the plates and went upstairs. It was 4:30 already. I should go have my bath, Sheri would be up soon to prepare breakfast.

I stepped out of my bathroom with my towel tied loosely around my chest. The rain was pouring now. I stood in front of the mirror admiring my self, at 17 I had huge boobs and my my hips were curving outward already. I turned my ass to mirror and wiggled it playfully. I thought of all the guys who had a crush on me in the class even though I pretend I didn't notice.

In two months, I will be done with my final exams. I will have lots of admirers at the university. I have heard a lot of stories from Janet my cousin. She was 19 and in 200level. She was always on the phone with different guys, some old enough to be her dad. She called them big men. I don't like them. I love the cute guys, tall, dark, dimpled and handsome guys. They melted my heart and leave me in wonderful fantasies.

"Ayomikun!!!"

I heard my name being called, that was mum calling. She's the only one that calls my full name; Ayomikun. (Meaning my joy is filled). Everyone else calls me "Ayo" or "Mikun"

"I am coming," I replied.

I finished up dressing and went to the dinning room. Grandma was holding my kid sister.

Good morning gran, I said while courtseying

"Morning oko mi. Wa da gba" - she muttered some prayers.

I made funny faces at my two year old sister; Ebunoluwa( God's gift) and she smiled.

Mum was receiving a call and Sheri was serving the dishes. Grandma doesn't take the same breakfast as us. While Sheri served her Eba and Ègúsí soup she served my rice and stew. There were catfish on a separate dish, chicken and gizzard in another. I took one of the catfish. I was tired of eating chicken. I chewed and swallowed slowly. The stew was fried with palm oil just as I liked it.

"Your father said he would be back tomorrow" mum said as she approached us.

"I thought he said he would be back today" I replied.

"Yes, he said he had more work"

"My son works really had for his family, that's how a man should be" Grandma added.

I and mum stared at each other. Mum was going to avoid any argument this morning. So she kept quiet.

Grandma gave my little sister to mum so she could eat her Eba, only grandma eats swallow in the morning. She once told us all rice was meant for roosters, and claimed we do not eat good food.Good food to grandama were Eba, Amala and tuwo.

"Bye grandma, Bye Mum" I said as I picked my school bag and sauntered to the door.

"Are you sure you have enough money with you! Mum screamed after me.

"Yesss!!!"

Our driver Malik was already waiting. I liked Malik. Even thou he was Yoruba, He speaked Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba. He had been to most states in Nigeria and he tells good stories. I sit in front beside Malik whenever he drove me to school.

As we ushered out of the house gate, the rain had made some stagnant water in the potholes on the road, the grasses were wet and and their green colour looked a shade deeper. The rain was just drizzling now and the streets were already busy with people. Come rain nor sunshine, Lagosians are hardworker and they don't joke with their jobs.

Malik entered a ditch too fast and splattered water on an hawker who cursed us as we moved on. Though Malik tried saying sorry, but he decided against it since the woman already insulted him. We could see her screaming from the and making sign with her hands from the mirror. Malik reminded me of my seat belt, these he does at all time. I worked the radio to my favourite station; The beat fm 99.9

The OAP said the next song was 'In da club' by fifty cent. I didn't know the song and i could hardly hear the the lyrics.

You can find me in the club, bottle full of bub
Look mami I got.............
I'm into having sex, I ain't into making love
So come give me a hug if you ..........

I switched it off and we drove to my school in silence.

photo 102 21-30-40.jpg


Word count: 1272

Oops...I am proud of myself😊😀
Excuse my typos, All will be edited later on. Follow @freewritehouse and @mariannewest for the full details about freewrit

Sort:  

Congratulations @wems! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

I've finally started reading your story! I love love love that I am learning more about life in Nigeria. thank you for writing for march madness.
#mmfan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28