You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No Shame In Not Growing Your Own

in #market6 years ago

The division of labor is what propelled civilization from being almost entirely agrarian to the complex, modern industrial civilization we all live in today. It's what allows specialization to flourish, which in turn provides us with a wider variety of goods and services.

I'm all for self-sufficiency, and I think it's prudent for everyone to at least have the skills necessary to support their own existence if the need arises, but I agree with you. There is no reason to shame people who choose not to exercise those skills regularly or to a high degree. Even if everyone were entirely self-sufficient, the lack of time to specialize would lead to a downgrading of our available technology and means. I dunno about you all, but I like broadband internet and smart phones. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87