COME INTO MY GARDEN, I'D LIKE THE FLOWERS TO MEET YOU

in #marketfriday6 years ago

IMG_4515.JPG

Half of the adventure of traveling is discovering little nuggets. Meeting the locals. Tasting the fair. Exploring heritage sights and wandering the countryside. I am very good with directions. However, since the advent of the GPS - who I am convinced is a woman - I seem to constantly hit a wrong turn. GPS and I are not friends (although she definitely has her eye on my husband). And so, if we're not in a hurry I give her the day off and simply meander. I love to drive new roads and "stumble" upon treasures.

IMG_4512.JPG

We recently took two days off to visit friends in a coastal holiday cottage. The night was a shared birthday (mine and two other friends, one of whom turned 50) but during the day we explored a little. The first stop was the lovely RedBerry Farm which will be featured in an upcoming post for the strawberry lovers. En route we literally stumbled on this lovely plant market. Being homesteaders and always on the lookout for new herbs - we stopped.

IMG_4509.JPG

And so for #marketfriday, initiated by the floral @dswigle, join me for a short but colourful stroll among the gardens.

IMG_4508.JPG

The prices were unbelievably cheap, which makes for easy(er) spending. We were inspired by the lovely wooden herb stands. Of course we didn't buy any but have ideas of how to use the extra wooden pallets we have lying around.

IMG_4507.JPG

Considering the low prices of the herbs I was delighted to learn that they only use organic compost and natural pest control methods. For the homesteaders and gardeners who know the "Back to Eden" gardening methods, you'll be interested to see that this is how these plants are also grown. Until, of course they are bagged for sale. Being in such a hot climate it was fascinating to hear how it works. Due to our drought we have not implemented the method but rely on any spare grey water for our limited gardens.

IMG_4506.JPG

My only disappointment was that they don't have any of the more exotic herbs that I am desperately looking for. Plants have incredible healing power and I long to increase the size and diversity of my herbal gardens.

IMG_4498.JPG

Perhaps it is overly ambitious of me to add to the herbs in our challenging drought conditions but we can only hope for a break in the weather.....soon. Possibly I have the mentality of the aged Mediteranean villagers. The Greek Proverb states that; "A society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in."

IMG_4518.JPG

I love that idea. It is one we should all live by. Give life so that the children yet to be born to thrive! While I admire the flowers I only buy practical plants. Herbs that bear sweetly scented flowers as well as give us their medicinal and culinary flavours.

IMG_4517.JPG

We chose a small gift for the grandparents back home. This poetic Afrikaans quote translate to mean "in granny and grandpa's garden, grandchildren are spoilt". They loved it and have planted the plaque near their gardens pathway.

IMG_4524.JPG

Back home my helpful little farm boy helped with the re-homing of our little herbs. It took twice as long as he likes to dig out the soil. But he made certain to give them a good soaking. May we all enjoy our life's journey. Despite bad directions and challenging conditions. May we all plant trees to shelter the coming generations.

IMG_4911.JPG

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you once again for the honour @c-squared

I'm starting to grow more herbs, I added mint this year and I hope it will be strong enough to survive the winter!

Oh wonderful @simm50! If your mint is in a protected enough area it should survive. It's quite hardy

I took a look at it yesterday and it had expanded some....hopefully it developed some good roots!

I'm friend with the GPS but my wife hate it. A true market, I like very much flowers and seedlings. I will also copy the wooden herb stands model. Aromatic herbs are a pleasure to cultivate and I hope to adapt to the conditions of your farm. Planting a tree, raising a child ... you do it all. I admire you and your family!

Thank you for the compliment @bluemoon! It's funny but it seems most men prefer the GPS but the women hate it!

Yes, I felt on my skin on the last trip.

Happy belated birthday @buckaroo :) I tossed my GPS years ago and Brian and traveled or rather, beautifully meandered, after that!

What a great find this was; I love that herb stand too.

This is such a wonderfully selfless thought, isn't it?:

The Greek Proverb states that; "A society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in."

I really wish the world or people could become more like this ... with everything.

Thanks for sharing and as usual, your quality posts deserve a little visit from c-squared :)

As usual a big THANK YOU Lynn! I had a laugh about you also tossing your GPS! We actually used the blasted thing to find the RedBerry farm. We were meeting my friend and her little girl there at 1. We were over half an hour late! My husband insisted on using GPS. At one point I questioned her directions, saying we needed to turn off the highway as the place was a few minutes away. But "no" we had to follow the more accurate coordinates than my gut. Her "accurate coordinates" took us right into town and then doubled back to about a mile away from where I had suggested turning. I was so cross

We were inspired by the lovely wooden herb stands. Of course we didn't buy any but have ideas of how to use the extra wooden pallets we have lying around.

Yup! Those are awesome. Now I have a project for fence boards! I love seeing little things like that and making them.

Oooo there are some fabulous projects for those "unwanted"pieces of wood! I look forward to seeing what you make Nathan!

What a lovely post, @buckaroo. After reading loads of articles that were pretty negative, to say the least, this was a welcome change.
You also reminded me I need to set up the garden journal challenge post for this month... I'll try to do so asap

Glad you enjoyed the colourful gardening post @simplymike. I must admit it is sometimes depressing to read too much of the more negative stuff. I have already taken photos for your journal! We have half grown almonds and apricots plus blossoming nectarine and picking the onion seed so plenty happening here!

Great! I will be glad to see a thriving garden again, because mine looks all sad and empty :0(

Oh shame! It's sad when it is empty but hopefully recovering for a bountiful coming season

😂 we have the same problem with the GPS lady😊 she made me lost while following her instruction sometimes 😅 I would be happy to end up at this kind of herb and veg market. Was your little farm boy soaking the rosemary?

He gave all the herbs a good soak! And himself

😂😂😂 what a happy boy.. just like other boys in the world, they love water 😁

It's a pleasure meeting your flowers!

A society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in.

Love this proverb! Working to advance the next generation, even if they don't get to directly enjoy it.

It is a great one. They do the same in Israel. Old men plant trees although they usually do it in memory of the past so that the future generations remember.....

haha! howdy there buckaroo! wow what a fun trip to find this herb place, but it's too bad they didn't have the healing herbs that you wanted. But the photos are amazing as usual!

Thanks @janton! We still brought some lovely herbs home but I'll keep looking for the really special ones

howdy again buckaroo! I'm sure you will eventually find them but can I ask a dumb question? Why don't you just order them online?

Because import duties are so high that I will have to mortgage my house to afford it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97