SOMETHING OLD SOMETHING NEW SOMETHING BORROWED SOMETHING BLUE

in #marketfriday5 years ago

3c8b3d55c5ea080faa352a027e7e7abb.jpg

"Congratulations on the new tractor!" my Dad said, "What type is it?"
"Orange!!" I answered proudly. Apparently I carried the family tradition as my cousin had answered similarly when asked about her new car. In the subsequent homesteading years I have learnt a little more about tractors. Be they blue, orange, red or green. Old or new. Big or small.

IMG_9746.JPG

Earlier this year my brother, @craigcryptoking and I met at my Dad @quailbreeder, for a two week vacation. He also lives on a farm. Dad, not my city slicking brother. The farm is my Dad's cousins huge industrial family farm. And they have TRACTORS!

IMG_9735.JPG4

Big ones. Bigger ones. Massive ones. All the names are there. John Deere. Massey Ferguson. Ford. Then there were the retired old favourites. Some were really old. And those were my favourite.

IMG_9820.JPG

Old tractors make for wonderful photography. As well as bringing a touch of nostalgia. Sure unless you are Amish we've come a far way from horse drawn ploughs and hand sewing the fields. But even the tractors that were in their prime a century ago were vital to the survival of so many farming communities.

IMG_9740.JPG

Although not initially known as a tractor John Froelich invented the first successful gasoline-powered engine. It was 1892 in the tiny village in Northeast Iowa. And it could be driven backwards and forwards! The steam-powered engines were used to thresh wheat.

IMG_9819.JPG

Before him the inventor Benjamin Holt patented his first practical crawler-type tread tractor. How far we have come since them! And how much more the tractors are designed and expected to do, than harvest wheat.

IMG_9728.JPG

For this first #marketfriday of another year I am delving back in time for @dswigle and a rather unique retired market type entry. So appropriate that word. If it weren't for the tractors many farmers would never get their produce planted or harvested for the markets.

IMG_9809.JPG

My little boy has a shirt with a tractor on it. And the words "Support Local Farmers!" As farmers I particularly love those words. I wish more people, the world over would realize that without the hardworking farmers, and their tractors, they would not eat!

IMG_9805.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Here is my baby.

The world would starve without tractors!
Got to love them ;)

Oooooo! A beauty! Yep. Got to love tractors!

I love old Iron. It amazing me the mechanical genius that went into so mush farm equipment.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Me too! It is mechanical genius @andre-ager

Congratulations on your new orange tractor😉 no little farmer hand this time 😉

Oh the orange tractor is very old @cicisaja! We've had it for 7 years already. That's why I said I've learnt a lot since we bought that tractor.

Is it the tractor that you showed us when you did the land clearing for onions few months ago @buckaroo?

Yes! Well remembered!

I can tell you that I had a hobby farm and the first tractor was a Farmall c


Picture by Google images


Aren't these beauties the best thing? especially the old ones? I like them because they are easy to repair and not electronic everything. I can only imagine what it would have felt like to be the first person to invent the gasoline one, driving it back and forth.

My brother passed up the one I got for a newer one and called me to check it out! I jumped on it and bought it on the spot. Yes, ma'am! My very own tractor. My dad laughed that I got such thrills out of it.

You have quite the collection there and I have to say that I am in love with your post. A girl after my own heart! :)

Thank you for introducing the old timers! They just don't make them like they used to! Orange!?? Yep. I understand! We love you at #MarketFriday!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

🎁 Hi @buckaroo! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Great tractors! I have been to Froelich, Iowa. Fascinating history!

It must've been quite an experience @melinda010100

Howdy again buckaroo! I love this post because I love tractors, being raised on a farm and driving them starting at about age 10. Wonderful post!

I know nothing about tractors, but your photographs of them are fantastic @buckaroo. They sure do make for an absolutely fascinating subject matter. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78