You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Death of a Mall

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Funny, I was just talking to my neighbor (and I'm in retail, btw) about the death of the mall. It isn't just because people are shopping online more, it's also because one of the traditional "mainstays" of the American Mall no longer exists: The idea of young people hanging out at the mall is no longer a thing... now everyone is hanging out online, or via their smartphone apps. Which made the food court and many stores obsolete...

Some of the malls around here are being re-appropriated by community colleges, and even as affordable housing.

Sort:  

now everyone is hanging out online, or via their smartphone apps.

Yes that is true. Could it not be seen then, in the bigger context, as the dawn of the importance of virtual life as opposed to real life, perhaps?

Unfortunately, virtual life cannot hold a candle to real life. Or perhaps that is only my opinion

I agree, but there seems to be more importance than ever given to one's online world. Next time at the theater look around before the show starts. Chances are a majority are on the phones. I often see two people at a table and both are on their phones instead of communicating. To me that is sad.

That is utterly dismal. I hold no hope for the communication of our upcoming generation. I just won't give in to it.

Gotta go now, text you later.

LOLZ now see that is funny right there...I don't care who you are, that right there is hilarious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.30
ETH 3106.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87