Thrift Store Shopping in Mendon Massachusetts

in #marketfriday6 years ago

“One man's junk is another man's treasure!”


It's Market Friday!

I'm sure you have heard this said many times before, and it is nowhere so apparent as in a thrift store where items discarded by some are excitedly purchased by others!

This is my first day back home from a ten day trip to New England to visit my husband's Mom for her 90th birthday. Probably for the first time in my recent life, I did not travel with my DSLR, but relied only on my iPhone 8 Plus to document our trip. Today I have had the fun job of downloading 800+ photos to my computer and reliving the fun time we had there.

One day I discovered this amazing thrift store which occupies an entire 4 floors, the basement being entirely devoted to Christmas items!


blessing barn-1.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus

The building was once the Mendon Country Gift Barn, but Compassion New England now operates a thrift store in this delightful building! The purpose of this store and its sister store in Milford is to give back to the community. It does this in many ways – by way of a food pantry and fuel assistance, by giving out vouchers that can be redeemed for merchandise at the stores, and through different kinds of classes and workshops for preparing for job interviews, teaching ESOL classes, helping with resumes and helping students to prepare for their GED, for example.

This is not your ordinary thrift store either, by a long shot. Upon entering the barn, my first impression was of a very large and very well laid out eclectic gift shop. But, let the pictures tell the story of this incredible place, and if you are ever in the area, be sure to visit it at: The Blessing Barn, 5 Hastings St, Mendon, MA. Store Hours are Mon-Sat: 10am – 5pm.

So, what would you shop for? What is your treasure?


blessing barn-2.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-3.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-4.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-5.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-6.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-7.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-8.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-9.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-10.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-11.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus

blessing barn-12.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-13.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-14.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-15.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-16.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-17.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-18.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-19.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-20.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-21.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-22.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-23.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-24.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-25.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-26.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-27.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


blessing barn-28.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


Thanks to @dswigle for introducing the fun #marketfriday tag!


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for photography tips and tutorials and Follow if you wish.


Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

That's my kind of store! Cosy and warm! And love the architecture too!
I'm glad you are back sound and safe, my dear Diane! Big Hug!

Very cool! I’d be checking out the vinyl while my wife tried on furs. :-)

My son is a vinyl lover too! I'd go for Xmas decorations ;), love them!

Hehe! I could have spent the whole day in there, but my husband could only take so much! I went thrift shop hopping the next day with a friend!

Little bit of everything in there.

Absolutely! What a find! I wish it was close to my house!

What a cool building and such cool stuff in there some real cool and interesting things in there it must be a pleasure to visit

I could have stayed to explore for hours!

I bet it would be a hard shop to leave

It was, but with a bored husband and two 90 year-olds sitting outside on the rocking chairs waiting for me, I didn't have much choice! LOL!

That would make you speed up for sure :(

You had me at Christmas floor!!! 😄🎅🏻🤶🏻🎄

We are headed to New England for 10 days in August. ☺️ I might have just added Mendon to the list. 😃

They have a sister store in Milford too - both are in southern Mass. towards the CT and RI border.

Oooo. This lines up perfectly with out August trajectory. Yay! 😃

That's cool! Such a neat area of New England. It's my husband's home area.

Nice post @dmcamera. I like thrift shopping. Always find something good when I go :D

Me too! Thanks for stopping by!

This is my kind of store. I'd have loved to roam around and take hundreds of photos.

What an amazing place to shop, I love stores like this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95