Market Friday and the Pow-Wow

in #marketfriday5 years ago


Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise! That is me!) Have you ever been to a Pow Wow? Experience a unique gathering of the cultural nature, where Native Americans cermonialize their heritage, through dance, the clothing they have made, the storytelling and their arts? Getting together keeps their customs intact and provides like fellowship. Most importantly, it is a deeply spiritual thing.

pow wow 282.jpg

The drum is the heartbeat of the tribe. It is used to bring balance and renewal to the people. Sometimes they gather around the drum, singing Native songs to the beat of the drum, their voices carrying throughout the area. These songs and their playing have been passed down through many generations of Native Americans and are a reminder of their rich heritage. I close my eyes at the memory, fully aware of its hypnotic power over me.

pow wow 67.jpg

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:


1. Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo or an art auction. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service. I once went to a nail salon.
2. Take pictures! Be creative (or not)
3. Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
4. Post the picture(s)
5. Don’t forget to hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle
6. Drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them

It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe! C’mon! Show me your market shots! I eagerly await them!

The string of feathers attached to a backboard is called a bustle and it is a traditional part of a man's regalia worn while he is at a pow wow or an Exhibition. I was awed by their beauty. The feathers are usually hawk or eagle feathers.


There were booths set up at various spots selling handmade gifts or souvenirs. Arrowhead charms and pipes of peace. So many to choose from!


The drum is not just a musical instrument. To many people, it holds great cultural and symbolic power. They believe the drum has a life of its own, as well as its own powerful spirit. The drum is the heartbeat of the Indian Nation. It carries the heartbeat of Mother Earth and calls the spirits and nations together. source


pow wow 57.jpg

Please leave the link to your post on here so it can easily be found by others. They will all be in one place!! Thank you! ❤



The Native Americans used animal pelts to decorate their clothes. The skunk, seen here, was used as a lesson because although a skunk does not threaten your life, it reeks havoc with your senses.

Look at the beadwork on her belt. Every bead, handsewn. So precise their work is.

pow wow 42.jpg

Never too young to learn the culture and its ways.

The jingle dress dance. Each dancer must sew rows of metal cones, so they dangle from the dresses and rattle and clink as they move. In the traditional dance, they could never dance backward, or even complete a circle when dancing. They were not allowed to cross their feet either. I love the jingle of the dress. How many cones do you think is in a typical jingle dress? I know they aren't allowed to look at their feet! The elders were calling out, "Look up Sienna! Don't look at your feet!"



STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


source
A sparrow has fallen into a hole in a rock. The hole measures three inches in diameter and is three feet deep. Due to the depth of the hole, the sparrow cannot be reached by hand. We cannot use sticks or canes, because we could hurt the bird. How can you get the bird out?


source

By gradually pouring sand into the hole. The bird will keep moving so that it is not buried in the sand, forcing it higher until it comes out.

The beads will be used for jewelry, worn by men and women alike... and the dream catchers and all of the other crafts of artistic endeavors have been hand made. These small acts keep the traditions alive.





pow wow13.jpg

I hope you will join us as we share different markets. It has been such a pleasure to see markets from all over the world. Who doesn't love to see what they are selling? There is always a curiosity attached to foreign ingredients, different produce or any product sold. So, yes! I would love to see yours! So don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery, art galleries, wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Don't forget to use the hashtag #marketfriday and @dswigle.

The headdress is a well-known symbol of strength and bravery. I had never seen one so long Ever.



As always, there must be a flower. Always. To color my world. This flower is dedicated to #FridaySkyBlue #ColorChallenge by @Kalemandra, who colors my world every day.



image.png

And just like that, this post is done. I hope you had a good time! Pow Wows are a wonderful experience and a piece of cultural learning. I have been to a few different ones and I honestly can say that they leave me with a deep spiritual feeling. As always, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit #MarketFriday!! Thank you for supporting the challenge! If you ever get the opportunity to go to a Pow Wow, I kindly remind you to respect their ways. Although most are public events, they are culturally significant events to the Native Americans. Have a most fabulous day! Cheers!!

pow wow 40.jpg

Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post, again and again, I am encouraged by you, for the time you take to visit and comment. For all of these reasons, I am eternally grateful. We live in a wonderful world and some days, it is not as easy to see, how beautiful it can really be. If you have a choice in your day, choose to be kind. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


I always post this poem down at the bottom of my posts. It is one that has become so near and dear to my heart. I only post the most famous part of it, but, wanted to post it in its entirety today.

they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

SteemUSA.jpg

center>PHC-Footer-05.gif

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

What strikes me most about all these shots is how colorful their attire is! So very colorful and intricate as well. I certainly did not know all about those details and you sharing them really brings the post alive. I always admired their proud heritage.

I really am drawn to the shot of the little girl. Doesn't she just have the best expression?!? What a nice shot!

I know guys that do arrow head hunting and have some fantastic collections. Sadly I have yet to find one myself.

This post just hit me right and I think you raised the bar yet again.

Thank you so much !!!

MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

Well I almost forgot my link! Good thing I got to it before you did OMG!!!

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@old-guy-photos/the-crap-i-buy

Ha! Thank you!!

!tip

Great photos! I was quite taken by the Yellow and Green costume... they aren't the colours that are usually associated with American Indians? I thought that the earthern colours were usually more common? Interestingly enough, they are also the Green and Gold colours of Australian teams!

Hehe! Truth! The colors of Australian teams!Sorry for the late reply! Still away with no internet! Here is a link for the color and Native Americans!

https://www.warpaths2peacepipes.com/native-american-symbols/color-meanings-symbolism.htm

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your kind words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

Never been to a Pow Wow, but it would be very interesting, and the outfits are amazing. I've always loved the drums too, we have groups here that do large events. It goes straight to your soul.
I hope to get one of your 'teasers' SOME day. This one I missed too, though I think my idea would work: put an angleworm on a string, dangle it down the hole, then wait for the bird to snatch it in it's beak, then SLOWLY pull it up, since a bird is like a baboon, and won't let go, once you get him to pick up the worm.
I'll get one SOME day ( :

Haha! You win the prize!!! :)

OMG! I didn't finish Market Friday and skipped off to the Chincoteague Pony Swim but, will be back tomorrow sometime! Thank you for always being so kind and checking me out!!!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

What a fun event! This culture is totally new to me as we don't have it here but it looks interesting. You had a lot of fun I bet :)
Here's my entry for this week Knives for MarketFriday

It is an amazing culture, so rich and full of history and yes!! It is so much fun!! I am away again at the pony swim, so this is short and sweet!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

I love marketfriday too, my next post is ready 😁

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you for the resteem @pixresteemer!! Much appreciated!

!tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk Goes Wild! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Oh my goodness you do spectacular work! thank you so much!

Thank you for stopping by!!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

I have like .00001% native American blood in me. I can say I have not ever been seen a pow-wow. I have been blessed to see Teepee in person and even gotten to go inside a couple different ones. It is quite an interesting and fun culture with how many different tribes there are out there.

I have seen a teepee and am still in awe!

An amazing culture for sure!!! You know I appreciate you stopping by!!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

Hello Denise. How's it going? I have always been fascinated with Native American culture. I'd love to learn more and how the beautiful headress became a symbol for them. Closest way I could experience Pow Wows is thru videos and your posts.

They are truly amazing! I am so happy that you were able to come and check it out!

#Market Friday loves you!

!tip

Thank you for sharing such a lovely event with us. Wow, is all I can say! They are all so beautiful and blessed to be a part of Native America.

Thank you! It was such a wonderful moment for us to experience this and I hope to go again soon!

#Market Friday loves you!

!tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86