Cacti for MarketFriday

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Some of you may know that I'm an African Violet addict, I stated that on my profile, it's not a secret. However, things have changed, I'm not collecting them anymore but selling them. It's not something that I've planned, this just happened. I'm grateful for that because these flowers are propagating without any intervention from my part and at some point something needs to be done as my space for flowers is limited. I'm glad because I know these flowers end up being taken by people who love flowers.

IMG_20190604_102438a.jpg

Long story short, my next project is going to be a cactus, most likely. During my high school years I had a few but those were not like what you can get now.

IMG_20190604_102441a.jpg

I've been very hesitant regarding what to buy and truth to be told, sometimes there's none on the market. Last time in June I saw a bunch but could not buy any unfortunately.

IMG_20190604_102446a.jpg

You may ask why I am hesitant. Well, the problem is these cacti are labeled simply Cactus and that's all. Normally you should see a name, the type of cactus it's up for sale but these people are lazy or don't care about labeling properly the product.

IMG_20190604_102503a.jpg

Not knowing what you have in front of you makes it harder to decide. I need one that won't grow very much and fast. I'd like a cactus that is flowering every year more than once if possible. Is it too much to ask?

IMG_20190604_102509a.jpg

Tomorrow I'm going to the supermarket again and if I'm lucky and can find a few, I'm going to spend half an hour surfing the internet in order to identify them and learn about them.

IMG_20190604_102516a.jpg

It's going to be interesting, me standing in front of the shelves, taking photos, uploading and trying to identify cacti. We'll see, maybe I'm going to make another post about my adventure. Wish me luck so I don't get into trouble with security :))

I hope you liked my cacti show. This is my entry to #marketfriday hosted by @dswigle.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Saturday Morning Musings And Such Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Many thanks

It looks like a nice selection of cacti in the shop, I hope you find one to your liking!!
$trdo

Congratulations @rynow, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @erikah!
@erikah got 6 TRDO & @rynow got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Token distribution bot developed by @ali-h

Thank you.

Maybe next time. I have to dedicate a day to this so I can check what I'm buying.

I agree with you. I like to know the real name and size that it will become before I decide to buy it. My good friend raises cacti and she is always propagating them to share with others. Putting different varieties into dish gardens create a lovely centerpiece. Have fun, Erikah.

Thank you, unfortunately there were no proper labels, so I came home empty handed again.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you very much @vivesoflife.

I’m a big fan of cactus plants, I think it’s an acquired taste not everyone can see the beauty in these spiky succulents. It sounds like you have a good plan for growing cuttings and reselling them - I hope it goes well for you ! COFFEEA

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're right about that, not everyone can see the beauty of it but it's ok. Thanks for stopping by and have a nice weekend 😊

@erikah, beautiful cactuses 🌵! Good luck tommorow at the market!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you but had no luck. I saw some nice ones but with the general "cactus" label only.

Hi @erikah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.469 which ranks you at #2222 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 14 places in the last three days (old rank 2208).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 126 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Oh yes! I know you're an African Violet lover, it is no secret to anybody. LOL I can't believe that you're a turncoat! Collecting them but selling them? And now that I saw your explanation I can understand why and I'm very happy for you it's turned out to be a little business all by itself. Cactus is kind of fun so, although having spent a few years out west in the desert, I can actually say, "Never enough Cactus!!"
They are sometimes truly amazing looking. Everybody loves Christmas cactus and everybody buys them around Easter and Christmas. At one time I did not know that there is an Easter Cactus and a Christmas cactus and that they bloomed at different times of the year. And then the clue bird let me in on a little secret. Different Cactus for different blooming times. To tell you the truth, when I was in high school we were selling poinsettia plants as a fundraiser. I was in charge of it and instead of getting them at the store and being at the mercy of them oh, I looked it up on the internet where they sold them and went to a wholesale house. It was a lot cheaper there than depending on the stores. Instead of taking the time to identify the cactus, why don't you take a picture of it and post it and make a little contest of it. Whoever chanted discover the most of them can get a prize or do it for free because it is fun just doing it

Good luck on your new adventure! I want to thank you for taking the time in energy post to Market Friday. It is always appreciated and as always I wish you a good evening.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and steemed

!tip .20

I have two of those cactus, they grow slowly, but I've never seen them flowering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65