Market Friday in Aungban, Myanmar

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


You have probably been to a drive in restaurant before, but in Myanmar, they have drive-in markets! But let me start from the beginning: After I had travelled to Taunggyi, a city with very friendly people that is somewhat off-the-beaten track despite its proximity to the popular tourist hotspot Inle Lake, I decided to head to Kalaw before travelling on to Kayah State, a rarely visited region of Myanmar. To get from Taunggyi to Kalaw, I took the local train in the early morning - and soon I found myself at one of the most amazing markets that I have ever been to.


1/25s; 15mm; f/7.1; ISO 125

After a few hours of slowly driving past beautiful landscapes, the train approached Aungban. When the train stopped at the platform, dozens of vendors were waiting to sell their goods to their freshly arrived customers.


1/60s; 35mm; f/2.8; ISO 100

I watched in awe how the platform turned into a busy market place. My fellow passengers went on a shopping spree as they started leaning out of the window, beckoning and sending away vendors, inspecting goods, comparing prices, bargaining, deciding on products, handing over money and trying to find space for their newly bought goods in the train that was filling up quickly.


1/30s; 20mm; f/3.2; ISO 250


1/200s; 35mm; f/2.0; ISO 320

Big and small bags of produce were moved inside the train through doors and windows while vendors scampered around to get more produce.


1/125s; 35mm; f/2.8; ISO 200


1/250s; 18mm; f/2.5; ISO 720

When the train left Aungban to continue its journey to Kalaw after forty minutes, it as filled with goods just like my SD was filled with photos from this fantastic market.


1/100s; 35mm; f/2.0; ISO 560

Make sure to check out other posts in #marketfriday, the awesome tag curated by @dswigle!


1/500s; 32mm; f/2.5; ISO 100


1/30s; 18mm; f/16.0; ISO 100


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

I am in love with this post! Who knew such a thing existed? Myanmar is a country that is filled with surprises and such unusual ways of selling their merchandise.

Right off, the pictures lure me in. Your photography is so graphic, it stirs the soul in so many ways. The pictures are so expressive and descriptive to my eyes, without saying a word. That is a gift.

The buzzing around with the vendors as they lunge towards the train, heavily laden with produce... It would have taken me by surprise, I am sure. I am sure this scene makes for a very awesome photo op for tourists and like everything else, modernization will come in to update this traditional way of selling their merchandise. Of course, I hope this doesn't happen before I get there.

I wanted to ask you how safe it is to travel about the country as you do. While I am not in the least intimidated to do so, I guess what I am asking is if you feel safe? As an aside, I cannot express to you how much I appreciate you sharing your experiences with us! I always get excited when I see you posting into the challenge!

Thank you for the time and effort to put the #MarketFriday post together. You are always a welcome edition!

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

You certainly write the best comments, thank you so much! Myanmar is probably one of the safest countries in Southeast Asia to visit, there are no armed conflicts in the areas opened to tourism and crime is very low, I felt very safe at all times. The people of Myanmar are so kind, they can't be blamed for the political problems the country has. I really enjoyed travelling in this amazing country!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jpphotography
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-in-aungban-myanmar


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Really interesting processing of the photos - looks like illustration from a book. Original and well done!

Thanks, happy to hear that! :)

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #355.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Great Report ! Absolutely love your Images ! And thanks for participating on my contest again!

Thanks! It's a pleasure to participate!

Hi @jpphotography!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.505 which ranks you at #1956 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 246 contributions, your post is ranked at #66.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been upvoted for free by @millibot with 5%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @millibot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

Wow! Such a beautiful market! Can't believe it! Those are such great photos, well deserved 1st price in the #photoanthill contest! Sure you did well in the other too!

Thank you :) The market was so fascinating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99