Market Friday - Spice EmporiumsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Heady spices greeted me when I walked into one of the most famous spice shops in Durban - Spice Emporium.
This business has been in the same location for as long as I can remember and they always stock the very best spices; quoting from their web page:

As our journey continues into the fourth generation of our 80 year old family business, we will continuously strive to bring you consistency, quality and the type of customer service that will always make you feel part of the family.

20190809_133601.jpg

Our young guest who hails from afar asked me to accompany him to this store as he had a long shopping list from his girlfriend, her mother, his mother, aunts and cousins!
It was quite a daunting task as in his words he's a danger in the kitchen :) and needed a guiding hand!
20190809_133507.jpg

I had not been in this store for a long while and had forgotten just what a feast of goods they stock as I nowadays buy my spices at a local little spice shop.
Seeing the vast display of spices, pulses, teas, kitchenware, frozen meals etc etc, I vowed to go there more often! They also stock special prayer goods and health products.

20190809_134208.jpg

20190809_134136.jpg

20190809_133429.jpg

20190809_133821.jpg

Teas and Incense for every occasion.
20190809_133220.jpg

I found some real treasure and our guest need not have feared as their customer services is top notch with a shop assistant guiding us to the right aisles. We were also given advice on how and what to use the different spices for!
What a breath of fresh air as personal customer service is a thing of the past in many stores nowadays!

I learnt about Wet Leaf Masala which our guest's mother was familiar with and had on her shopping list. This is a mix of spices, seeds and leaves; one need not add any other spice to a curry when using this. It was super fragrant and spicy I'm really looking forward to cooking my next curry with it!
20190809_133715.jpg

Spices for those buying larger quantities.
20190809_133128.jpg

Beans and pulses galore; all excellent quality.
20190809_133322.jpg

20190809_133329.jpg

Indian snacks which are as addictive as nuts; once you start eating them you just cannot stop!
20190809_134503.jpg

My absolute favourite rice - Basmati Rice - so much to choose from!

20190809_134525.jpg

20190809_134535.jpg

My bounty was much smaller than my guest's, but I was happy as I managed to find not only spices, but also a pastry cutter and cookie cutters in different shapes and sizes.
We also took home some freshly prepared mini Rotis and Vegetarian Samoosas - Moong Dholl plus Cheese & Sweetcorn; they were delicious!

20190809_163849.jpg

I hope you enjoyed visiting the Spice Emporium with me; this has been my contribution to @dswigle's Market Friday.

lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Oh my word!!! This is unbelievable @lizelle, I would be in big trouble in this market, lol The smell must have been heavenly, fresh spices! The Masala looked amazing. I'll be anxious to see what you cook up with those cookie cutters :) Beautiful post today my friend!

One could get quite lost there, I used to go there at lunchtimes when I was working and always ended up buying much more than I intended ;)
Thank you for popping in my friend:)

Posted using Partiko Android

I love this, my friend. And, I love to see so many spices. According to Ayurveda medicine spices are incredibly important for our health and a great way to accomplish all 6 senses in our mouth. They say if we can have all 6 senses in our every meal we would all live at least 100 years old.

When I played basketball in Morocco last year they had these markets with all of the spices you can possibly imagine and for cheap as well. Here in Croatia some of the spices cost a fortune.

Thank you for sharing your Market Friday with us. Have a blessed day. :)

These spices are really cheap in this store, I was quite amazed as some of the stuff especially the Basmati rice costs at least double if not more in the supermarket plus everything is super fresh as their stock moves fast!
Really an experience going there.
Thanks for popping in @awakentolife :)

Posted using Partiko Android

That seems like a great deal. Basmati rice is the healthiest one of all rice and if you can get it cheap even better.

It seems like a place you will be stopping by more in the future. Heck I would too as well. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Lovely to see the Durban Spice Emporium is going, I have not been there in many years! We have a lovely family run Indian store down the road that supplies a little of everything.

I forgot they supply such a massive variety a good morning outing for sure @lizelle

I usually buy from the local little spice shop as it's conveniently situated but Spice Emporium certainly is a treat, definitely worth the trip into town; they have a little parkade in the small building next door so it's quite safe.
Really makes for a great outing! They also have a little restaurant inside but we'd already made other plans, I did not know about it.

It must be fun to see again, not one for big shops nor the city it would have to be for very good reason to venture that way again. You definitely showed how much they have, great selection!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you so much @helpiecake, always a treat when you visit ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Books flight to come right over...

Wow! That looks like a store where I would be in absolute heaven! Just the spices and beans alone are enough to get me excited, but I can only imagine all the other areas where I would find things I'd want to purchase. Can't wait to see some delicious meals using those spices. :)

LOL, we can arrange an airport pickup and special accommodation;);)
It really is a delightful shopping experience, one could spend hours there exploring all the interesting stuff.
Thanks for your lovely feedback!

Posted using Partiko Android

I feel like i can smell this post.

LOL glad you enjoyed it:)
Thanks for popping in!

Posted using Partiko Android

What a cool market the aromas in there must have been amazign i have hear dof wet Leaf Masala as my Wife used to use it sometimes when cooking Indian style food

It was really decadent if you're a spice lover like me, certainly opened up the sinuses :)
I can't wait to try that wet leaf masala!
Thanks for popping in my friend :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Always a pleasure to visit, I am not a big fan of too much spice but my wife used to love spicy :)

You just spiced up Steem....so many spices, even I didn't saw them in India like this.

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL, certain areas in Durban is like a little India ;)
Thanks for popping in @steemflow!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow this place looks massive! I have never been to a spice shop. We usually get our spices from a Wholefoods store but I would love coming into one of these places. I like trying new flavors and mixing spices. I enjoyed your post and now want to find a spice shop near me! 😃

I hope you do find one, they have such interesting stuff there, thanks for popping in:)

Such an amazing looking store! I actually cannot believe how well put together it is. It does look like the very best of everything and you can tell that there is pride in the way that the have their store. There is so much available there!

I left the tea and incense section. My spice store is strictly spice and tea but like this one it is set up so nicely and it's amazing. Sign that they have advice on how and what to use a different spices for because although my store does this many of them do not and it can be a daunting task to figure that all out. Oh they even have beans! And those little Indian snacks are very addictive so I am glad mine does not carry them.

I thoroughly enjoyed the visit with you to the spice Emporium and I want to thank you for taking the time and effort to put together a market Friday post. It was a very awesome post! As always, I wish you a most wonderful week ahead.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and steemed

!tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91