A Wild Things Market Friday with @dswigle and Feathered Friday with @melinda010100

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)

A Wild Things Market Friday

IMG_7652.jpg

IMG_7657.jpg

The last Thursday of every month the Museum of Vancouver holds a pay what you can night. I went last month with the intent to do a thorough photo take. Wouldn't you know it? My Iphone ran out of charge before I could grab captures from the Wild Things exhibit. It was disappointing because I wanted to share what I thought was a super interesting show.


The calendar month turned and I was back with a fully charged battery.

IMG_7659.jpg

IMG_7654.jpg

The collection boasts some amazing taxidermy of wild Canadian animals, some of them quite rare these days.


Cougars are almost never seen in our neighboring mountains. They are there but very elusive. It is usually bad news for you when there is a sighting. Small dogs and even children have fallen victim. To be honest, I would never want to see one in the woods, well maybe from the safety of some kind of shelter, and then it would be city-slicking for me, from then on.


This imagined flight for your life was sponsored and powered by Starbucks.


It is not only #marketfriday but also #featheredfriday now hosted by @melindo010100. I can never get any decent photos of actual live birds. Seriously. They can be close or far. Doesn't matter. They have this special blur shield where I am concerned. These guys move more my speed.

IMG_7669.jpg

IMG_7651.jpg

Peacocks are not native to British Columbia but we did have a population residing in Stanley Park many moons ago and there are still some fine ones in Victoria's Beacon Hill Park. Anyway, they are pretty and so I included one.

Blue herons we got. Lots of them. You can't go an 100 meters without meeting one along our downtown shoreline standing very still.

The bird is standing still, not you. Keep moving.

IMG_7666.jpg

IMG_7671.jpg

The crows always let you know when there is an owl in town. Sighting are not unusual. Not of eagles either. Did I mention just about all birds are early birds. Very early.

I'll leave you with a shot of the who's who of Canadian wildlife and coinage too. Although the eagles is sadly left off our money but not the loon. Actually with the penny retiring, the beaver has been put out of circulation. We may have to change out national identity. Loons are tough, right?

The Wild Things exhibit continues until September.

All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Hi prydefoltz,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you, Curie:) Very much appreciated:)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Great photos for #featheredfriday! Thanks so much for using and supporting the tag! There used to be loons around here when I was a kid, but now there are too many people.

The story of my life. LOL. Thank you, Melinda:)

Congratulations @prydefoltz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6250 replies. Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

What a stunning exhibition. Love the white backgrounds. Sometimes those fake in nature backgrounds can detract from the majesty of the creature on exhibit. Well photographed and glad you closed the loop from the previous visit. Your in equilibrium for the weekend now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, OZK. It was a fabulous exhibit, very artistic with lots of poetry and immersive aspects. The only knock for them I think was they could have used more space. It was a little compressed near the end.

Great tour there! Almost all of these animals I only see in books and videos. The owl photo reminds me of an owl who visited us some years back and I used that as my profile photo. That is the last time the owl visited. I never saw it again.

Owls do seem to carry additional meaning. Maybe because they are not seen as often. They are regal bird if you ask me:)

A beautiful display love all these beautiful animals especially the Cougars just a awesome powerful animal i am glad you got back there with a fully charged up battery you should get yourself a small power pack to carry with you , iPhone batteries are never reliable :)

Thank you, hangin:) That is an idea. I often have my old iphone5 on hand too. I give that to my son to use. Oddly enough, it has a way better battery life than my new iphone8.

That's why i have switch to Samsung phones they have a way way better battery life and way way better camera my Samsung A9 has four camera lens built in and the battery will go for 3 days and that's taking pictures non stop just about...lol :)

Yes. I think apple used to make much better products. Now they seem to build in a fail for most things. With my Macbook it was the keyboard. I have to type on it with a external and with my phone it was the battery. Don't get me started on the cords. LOL

Lol....time to switch i did and couldn't be any happier...hehe :)

I have a tower that I had to fix in the first year but it is now almost 10 years old and it power netflix and youtube fine. I have come to the conclusion that I will learn computer repair. It is the only way forward. Are you with me?

Computer repair can be very interesting work but it's not for me i will give that a miss and let you enjoy doing that...lol :)

They let you take pictures inside the museum? That's a strict no-no here!

It depends on the museum or gallery. I find it rare that pictures aren't allowed today.

I think the museum has done a great thing by offering a charge that you can afford. The Cougar looks amazing and the taxidermy has been done so well that it actually looks alive. I am glad you went back with a fully charged battery as this is great to see.

Thank you, @cryptoandcoffee. My goodness I love your steem handle. It is perfect for a interview show for dtube. If you were up to that.

And I agree it is so important for art and culture be available to everyone. Many places to a great job with that in Vancouver. Our art gallery which is our tres petit version of the MET also has a pay-what-u-can. But their family membership is very inexpensive and it even comes with an opportunity to do our own art once a week. I homeschool my son and so we really appreciate the opportunity to explore art outside the home. My son loves it.

I recommend steemian take a look close to home and what the opportunities might be. They would be amazed and then of course we can all share here:

I liked the Cougar. It looks so real and of course your front shot of it makes it to the top.

And the owl which is about to fly. Nice shots!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, blogger:) The skill goes to exhibity curators. They did such a marvelous job. It really is an experience to walk through the whole show.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97