Market Friday - Cigar Box Guitar FestivalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)

Last Sunday I went to the 7th annual cigar box guitar festival in St. Louis at the highway 61 roadhouse. Justin Johnson plays there live while many vendors and artists show off and sell their home made cigar box guitars. Here's Justin Johnson playing a three string cbg https://d.tube/v/sketch.and.jam/v465v6u7

Here you can see quite the variety of cbgs. Not all are made out of cigar boxes, like the hub cap one in the middle.

Some are made out of clocks and ironing boards like this lap steel.

A couple cbg amps and ukes.

Here's a hilarious bigfoot themed one.

Along with a bigfoot headstock.

Here's a cookie tin and steamer themed guitar.

A skillet themed bass, when I played it I thought it would be too heavy but it was actually pretty comfortable to play.

A couple gnarly bedpan guitars lol.

A cbg next to a gas can guitar. The gas can guitars have a steel string resonator sound to them.

Last but not least some itty bitty mint tin guitars. Not too playable but good as a fridge magnet. There were many great builds this year i'll probably do another post with more clips of live music. Happy #marketfriday

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You showed me something new today. Interestingly odd!

Really fun hobby to build and play these things. I saw one made out of an alligator skull once from new orleans lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't imagine and alligator skull. That would be the weirdest. Have you made anything like the cigar box type?

Yeah the gator skull was electric it had no acoustic sound. I made a cigar box amp here's an example of how it sounds

Posted using Partiko Android

That sounded great! I think your playing abilities had somethng to do with the how good it sounded. Thank you, I enjoyed that.

Thanks for listening, i need to make more videos with that amp, it has a funny quirk i have to figure out. It tends to rattle if i turn it up too loud, i think the box is so light that sound causes it to vibrate. I'll try dropping in some kind of weight inside to offset it. Also here's a link to that weird croc skull guitar https://reverb.com/item/6418416-cigarbox-guitar-3-string-crocodile-skull-guitar?utm_source=android-app&utm_medium=share

Posted using Partiko Android

Great set of strings you have in there. Such an awesome guitars with unique features. The creativities in there are mind blowing. This tells us that we can save up cost to use the very things around us that we see as waste to make awesome stuffs. And friday marketing will always be amazing with more of such great stuffs.

I really enjoyed every word in there and your pictures were so great to make your lovely writing a superb one. Great piece and keep the market spirit up always

Its a great hobby for recycling old objects that would typically get thrown away. All you need is an old board and some kind of resonator.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea... The feeling is always great around recycling. You are humbly welcome by the way too

I like how they have gone and tried things that you normally wouldn't think could work like an old oil can and such. This is really different and what markets should be about. Today once you have been to one market you have seen everything that is in the others.

I definitely want an oil can guitar one day, they have a nice resonant tone. I almost bought the bigfoot one this time around but have way to many guitars right now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha. Love the bedpan at the end. What a great entry into market Friday annals.

Posted using Partiko Android

The guy selling the bedpan guitars was hilarious, he was definitely from the boondocks. He had a shirt on that said "my beard is my spirit animal". Of course he had a gandolf beard.

Posted using Partiko Android

wow those are some unique guitars, I have not seen any such variety in it. But one question do they play same as other guitars or maybe not so effective because of their design preference.?

and yes congrats on your curie, thats a unique post :)

They are a bit different than normal guitar since most are three or four strings. Some have high action for playing slide guitar some have frets for standard playing. This is me playing my cbg it is more of a bouzouki setup

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh thats like guitar science. The one in your youtube is very pretty, i like the size and shape, also the color

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi there @sketch.and.jam!!

I love your market walk today. I have seen so many different and cool guitars!! I especially love those guitars that had been recycled like the bedpan guitar and gas can guitars. That is one way of making music and as well as help reduce waste materials. Awesome idea actually!

Thanks for sharing! I had enjoyed all the guitar displays! Congrats on your curie love. Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

It's an old artform, most of the early blues music songs were played on guitars like these.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh really??.. I never knew about it till now.. that is even great!

Posted using Partiko Android

Someday i might try and make my own, i already made an amp out of a cigar box but a guitar is a bit more tricky here's what the amp sounds like

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh wow! That is genius, creative and very innovative.. Please do share that with us too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmmmmm.. just played it. Not bad coming from a cigar guitar! If I wasnt looking I might have thought you were using an electric guitar. Awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi sketch.and.jam,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

WOW...They are really cool who thought guitars could be made of so many objects so very creative and ingenious some of them would look great hang up in hallways of a house..lol :)

Most of them play well too, one day i want to make one myself.

Posted using Partiko Android

They do look spectacular ...lol :)

Here's an amp i made last year they are much easier than making a guitar

Posted using Partiko Android

Great work great sound really cool i like it...lol :)

Holy crap! What an amazing array of original designs!
I loved how you organized the images. One is funnier than the previous one.
I was laughing outloud by the time I got to the bedpans.
The beauty of folk art. I miss that from the USA

There's video somewhere floating around of me playing the bedpan guitar, some guy was filming me while i played it lol. There were alot of good designs this year i really wanted the bigfoot one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 3% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97