Market Friday - More of Downtown Milford

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Market Friday - More of Downtown Milford

1 Cafe Atlantique.jpg


Sony A6500 29mm F11 1/125 ISO 125
Click here to view larger


This is a post for @dswigle Market Friday Challenge and for this week I am again featuring some shops or restaurants here in Downtown Milford CT.

Starting this post with the place we used to go to a lot the Cafe Atlantique, a quaint little cafe not to big and with a simple selection of food but always very well prepared and such a nice atmosphere there it was the place personally liked the most as I am not really into crowded and noisy places.

The Cafe Atlantique has a featured local artist or photographer who has there work on display for a month at a time, I was fortunate to have mine on display there for one month for a few years, the last year or two I took a break but I may consider doing it again one year.

The Cafe also has local musicians play on Friday and Saturday evenings and we used to enjoy catching many of them, my Wife even sang a few times there, sometimes with a set or two of her own or invited to join for a song with other musicians or bands, its a pity she doesn't feel up to singing anymore but I do hope one day she will get back into singing,

Now that myself and my wife do not drink and because of my wife's health and dietary issues we do not go out to much these days but if we did want tog out for a quiet evening the Cafe would be our choice.




Sony A6500 16mm F8 1/200 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


1 Lasses.jpg


Sony A6500 25mm F6.3 1/250 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



The Second place I will show in this post is Lasses Restaurant it has been around for ages from what I have heard and it has a charming atmosphere, the sign says famous Roast Beef and I had to try that and I must say it was pretty good.

1 Wendys.jpg


Sony A6500 18mm F8 1/250 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And just to show that we not all unique and only in MIlford places to Eat we do have the fast food chains including Wendys :)


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.222014 lat -73.057572 long Downtown Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

As always the colors have come out really well and make the images look so beautiful. I have never tried roasted beef, curious how it tastes.

I don’t often have Roast Beef but I must say it was real good from there

Superb shots of the hometown bistros, JJ! The first place looks like someplace I would like to grab a bite at. There is something about going to a place where everybody knows your name. :)

I do miss that about Connecticut. I can still go back home and go into stores, and It is like i never left. It feels warm and fuzzy. It is bigger and a bit more superficial here. But, well, you know. It's the job.

I had no idea Lulu sang! How cool is that? I hope she begins to feel herself and gets back to that place in her life.

I love roast beef, especially if I cook it low and slow! I don't even need a knife then, it just kind of peels off and is such a delightfully juicy piece of meat.

It is funny you should mention Wendy's. In Connecticut, there were really no fast food places in the 80's Very few anyway. Althought they had places like Dutchess hambergers and that was the fast food, although to this day, it is one of the first places I stop at. They still cool them on the grill. just like you are supposed to.

Awesome post! Thank you again! Happy #MarketFriday!

Upped and steemed tip!

I don’t do fast food mush at all well other than subway occasionally but it started here lol

I have never tried Duchess maybe I should

I think you should give it one try! ;) I am off on vacation! See you when I get back!

I have it in my list to visit someday

That first one looks like it could be a postcard! These are all really well done. Thanks for creating the #funkyedits tag - I just made my first one today, too. Nice to "meet" you.

Thanks for the visit and off to check your post I go 😎

Some great photos to enjoy of these stores, I know of Wendy's but I think that is just from watching films. The coffee shop is quite a different sort of building, and the sky in the second photo is incredibly blue! Another great market Friday thank you.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thanks for your visit and support 😎👍😎

Great photography. Milford looks like a neat town.

it is a beautiful and charming little city

Wow, you really are a master photographer. Your shots make everything look so classic!

Thanks kindly it’s a hobby I have fun with

its market madness i say haha cool edit on the first one

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 22 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I feel the Wendy's joke was in poor taste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63042.71
ETH 3175.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81