You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday, Maine Style

in #marketfriday5 years ago

My people do I have people? LOL I must ask next time I visit them if they have been there, it is for sure a place I want to visit without a doubt, I have been told b Many people that MA has so much history and places to see so I am looking forward to new adventures and destinations

Sort:  

Oh, I still have a lot of relatives there as they came over from France and Germany and the French relatives landed in Massachusetts and the Germans in Pennsylvania (they were Mennonite) so many weekends and holidays were spent around Boston and the Cape... with a smattering of them in Fall River as there were a lot of mills there.

You will be so close to history and you need to start in Boston. :)

Ohh yes Boston will no doubt be one of my first trips out of wherever I live, Most of my Ancestry is from England and Ireland according to ancestry and my DNA, I havent been able to track anything down on my fathers side yet, but have quite a few 2nd Cousin relatives so I have some suspicions but haven't got any confirmed matches for his ancestry yet

!ENGAGE 100

Most excellent! That is pretty exciting when we can track down our ancestry! I have actually traced back generations and photographed the graves. One thing to remember when researching in the United States for your ancestry is that most of the records were kept in the churches. If you remember, the church was one of the reasons for the breakup with England and it was the center of each towns universe. It was where the births were recorded and the deaths and all the marriages, etc. I am not sure if you knew that, but, if you find an area where your cousins are, you may want to check out the churches there.

Thank you for the engage tokens!

Ye sit is cool I have tracked my mothers side back many generations, but My father was adopted and I know he got his original Birth Certificate when he got married, thats when he found out he was adopted, but it was never something he talked about, I think he grew up when being adopted was a bit of a stigma, I also know he meet with some of his Birth Brothers and sisters, but again that was mentioned by my Mum and we never got any info about it, so I have no info on his birth parents and their ancestry

Yes I knew that about the records and churches here but thanks for reminding me I had forgotten that till I read your comment

Adoption wasn't so much the stigma, but, being born out of wedlock was. At least here in the States. The pilgrims were puritans. The adoptions were closed so that if the birth mother (or children) showed up on the doorstep unannounced, it wouldn't be a shock to the family - that probably never knew she had given birth.

So, I am shocked that your dad met his birth brothers, but, also happy for him.

Yes I think you are right that is true about the Stigma being born out of Wedlock,
I have no idea how he met them all know he found out when he got his Birth Certifate to get marries, that 1 he was adopted and his name was legally David Dudley something ( he never told us but from the DNA possible second cousins I suspect it was Mann) and not what he had always been called brian Gerard Richards

I find it interesting they didn't mask the birth certificate as they do here. Perhaps that is why.

That is great that this information was passed on to you. I am sure it will come in handy some day.

I honestly do not know Maybe it was masked and somehow someone found info, I know it was a good 50 Years after he got his birth certificate that one of his siblings contacted him and arranged the meeting with the family, it is somehting I would love to find more about but have had no luck so far

Here are your ENGAGE tokens!

To view or trade ENGAGE go to steem-engine.com.

Thank you for the engage tokens!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73