How do you think Steem and Steem apps should be marketed to people who are new to crypto? What arguments do you think would work best to bring in people who'd want to stay on Steem for the long haul?

in #marketing5 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io

Great question. If I only knew about Steem when I was new to crypto, what a difference would have made to my learning and earning cryptos and how would have affected my entire life if I knew about it right before the bull run of December. Now I am close to one year of Steem and I am happy to have found this great platform so I am going to point out some marketing tips that I would use to convince people new to crypto to invest in Steem, Steemit and other DApps.



It has a use case. This is the first thing that comes to my mind when thinking about Steem and how it stands against other cryptocurrencies and blockchains. Many others might have more millions or even billions pumped into their cryptos and total market cap but some have really no use case. They have a blockchain and that's it. Their blockchain is not as active and used as Steem is or what they actually do is less significant than what Steem does and how it has been proving "to be" a working blockchain and a good one also. In my opinion, nowadays, after the last bull run when speculation drove the prices up like nobody would have imagined the use case of blockchains will make a big difference in how their cryptos prices will evolve over time and if such cryptos will survive or not. Speculation will loose ground against use case in the years to come.

A tokenized blogging platform. That is what attracted me the most about Steem and Steemit. The idea of earning cryptocurrencies by blogging. Although I didn't had any clue about blogging when I joined the platform I learned that and I discovered a great way of earning Steem by sharing ideas and blogging everyday. What else can you want more as a newbie to crypto especially if you have "a thing" for writing and you speak English pretty good? With a bit of effort in a few months almost anyone can earn at least 100 Steem and although the price is very low right now it has the potential to go to over $10 sooner than we might think. Thus in my opinion earning $1000 in a couple of months by blogging a few hours a day is great. I would definitely underline this when presenting Steem to people that are new to crypto. 

Steem is accepted on many major crypto exchanges. As important as a use case for a blockchain is also the ability to be able to trade its cryptocurrency on the most important exchanges. From what I know Bittrex, Poloniex, Binance and others are supporting Steem for trading mostly against BTC and some against USDT also and that is a big plus that a crypto has. You can see on coinmarketcap very often certain cryptos popping by double digits in growth but their support on major exchanges is non existent while Steem has this plus and also a decent volume I would say. Thus not only that it has a proven use case for over two years but multiple ways of trading it for other cryptos also. There's also @blocktrades at hand that can convert both Steem and SBD to quite a few well known cryptos and it does that flawlessly and very fast.

Steem is the blockchain of DApps and opportunities. When I joined the platform all I knew was just Steemit and that was my "refugee" for hours on the world of cryptos but in time I found many other DApps that are working good on Steem and that are a great way to spend your time with them while some of them can even replace successfully some of the big social media platforms. There is Steepshot for uploading pics which is a way of staying out of the spammers area because uploading just a pic with a bit of text added to it is very often considered spam on Steemit and in my case Steepshot replaced successfully Instagram while earning cryptos with my pics. There is DTube where one can upload his videos and also share some recorded messages with the community and there are also some good upvotes coming from DTube for the dedicated ones. There is musing which is a great Q&A platform that not only connects Steemians but also gives generous upvotes for the dedicated ones so you can't say there are no options and opportunities on Steem.

It's volatile but so are all of them. Now looking at the price of Steem one can see that it is way lower from what it was in January but also pretty high from what it was in 2016. For the ones who joined Steemit and started investing in Steem at the beginning of the year the current price might be a disappointment while for the ones who invested a year ago or more and sold at ATH or close Steem was a blessing and it still can be. For a new crypto enthusiast buying Steem at less than 30 cents it is a bargain in my opinion. Even if it will go up in price to only $8 as it was less than a year ago it is definitely a great investment but if SMTs will be launched in a couple of months from now my opinion is that the price will really go through the roof so I would definitely call Steem a great investment and a blockchain worth using everyday. 

I don't want to make the comment any longer because I know people get bored of reading too much so I will say that these are my top 5 reasons for why a new crypto enthusiast should invest in Steem, blog and be active on Steem and hold Steem for the long run. That's how I see it. Hope you will find my answer interesting and wish you a great day!

Source of image: pixabay.com

Sort:  

No censorship - voluntary payment for content creators - great community

Definitely worth mentioning also . Glad that you came with a comment to complete my answer. Sometimes when talking about Steem it seems like there's always a plus to be added.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39