Content Strategy and Cornerstone Posts

in #marketing5 years ago (edited)

What sort of strategy do you deploy when creating content?  Do you have a publishing schedule with a thought-out plan?  Do you carry out keyword research and think of the readers when you are considering your topic? Or do you just shoot from the hip and write whatever fancies you?

Source 

I used a bit of content strategy here on steem.  When I started out, I posted about Excel, as I learned about the audience, I changed my content type to suit the audience.  I wrote posts to draw attention and I had some success.  I'm sure there are people here that remember :-)

On The Excel Club I have been rather strategic in some of the posts that I have been doing.  With high hopes for traffic targets, getting the right type of traffic is important.

I had noticed that many of the blogs that were doing rather well, were posts that covered more advanced tricks and skills. These posts rank well with Google, and some have been circulating some time.   The audience that would seek out such tutorials would have the skills to learn what the need from Google searches and don’t tend to go on and purchase courses.

So I needed a post that would rank well in Google and attract the less skilled Excel user.  If I can get them at an early stage in their learning, I can take the up the full path.  The lifetime value of a user like that is much greater than the lifetime value of a more experienced user.

With that in mind, I authored and Published Excel 101 – Getting Started with Excel 365 as a cornerstone piece.  It looks like finally last week, Google put it on the map as the search traffic had a nice little up and I also passed 100 shares on Facebook alone.  The other day I was found on steemhunt.  Let's hope that continues because I have been doing the work to promote the post, I just need a few new strong linkbacks.

The next cornerstone post I authored was only published today.  Again, addressing a problem, or weakness in my traffic.  I have these learn and earn steem activities on my posts, however getting people to engage is really hard. I know many have now signed up for steem accounts. I have set up and delegated to over 20 myself and  I know over 100 users have click thought to https://signup.steemit.com/.  But I am still really struggling to get people to engage in the posts.  Its funny how hard it is to give money away lol.  

My solution – target a niche audience.  Target people that are already familiar with cryptocurrency instead of the general Excel user.  So today I published Excel and Coinmarketcap – live cryptocurrency dashboard.  It’s a rather detailed article with a video tutorial and a learn and earn activity.   I published via steempress and with their awesome new comments section, it will be interesting to see how this plays out.  You can vote on the post and leave a comment with your steem account, or without a steem account,  right there on my wordpress blog.   I also got to use some of the different tribe tags.  

On Wednesday I will be doing my normal post promotion.  Sending out my newsletters, sharing on social media, sharing it with existing students & try to build strong linkbacks. But I think this time I am also going to do some paid promoting.  Probably on Google and Reddit.  But before that, I am going to promote the post with bots here on steem to boost the post as social proof to the nonsteem users. hehehe feel free to prevote before I send in the bots.

It would be interesting to hear from those that use Steem bounty and would this be a good marketing strategy I should consider?

Do you have a content strategy?  Do you think mine is naff?  I would love to hear your comments and feedback below


Sort:  

Yes I do! I first use google trends, ahrefs and buzzsumo data to see what’s popular in a certain niche and try to create a superior or updated version of the content

I will also use that to do keyword research and look at latent semantic keyword and long tail keyword! I then bucket that into various topics of intent around the specific niche and then start creating variants of content to target stages in the buying cycle or various archetypes

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just stop bragging ok it is not cute to those of us that create willy nilly content because it seemed like a good idea when taking a dump.

Well I save my poop posts for steemit and my real posts for where I can pull in Adsense revenue lol once I can combine the two I’ll be set

Posted using Partiko iOS

are you saying I am bragging or @chekohler lol :-)

High five, I knew you would be a yes to this.
I have probably been missing this one a bit
"start creating variants of content to target stages in the buying cycle"

Loading...

The best content strategy for me has been investing in SP, publishing multiple times a day whatever I want and engaging with other Steemians in comments. And recently investing in various Steem Engine tribe tokens to grow my foundation.

I know it's a different topic, but I don't think it's possible for me to grow enough without investing. Therefore I combine investing with creating and curating content to achieve my goals on Steem.

and what are your goals?

My goal is to grow my stake while helping other people grow their stake.

Posted using Partiko Android

I just make it up as a go in search of that illusive kpine vote :P

I wouldnt agree, some of your content has been strategic!

Yeah? Do tell :P

Thanks for sharing your strategy to get your post seen @paulag, it's an important subject that is most of the time overlooked or at least not given enough consideration, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

Therefore it has been manually upvoted with 100% and resteemed by @thisisawesome, I manually upvote and resteem 1 post per day for the Awesome Daily Spotlight, and I also promote that post on Twitter, and it will be included as the Awesome Daily Spotlight in the Awesome Daily post of today, plus I publish a weekly post on Sundays highlighting the Awesome Spotlight posts of that week.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

Thank you for creating awesome content.

Congratulations @paulag! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 42000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 43000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

The only thing that confused me a little bit is why would "creating" be placed/done before "researching"...

Greetings! @paulag is so nice to see good articles. Since when I was started honestly I am always rusher specially when I make articles. No review and even correct spellings I have a lot of corrections LOL!. And now I am starting to change it.

I didn't even know some of these strategies were a thing until reading about them here! I honestly do not have the time to do that and really do not rely on the earnings of my post so do not try to really optimize. My strategy is really to be present and engage across the ecosystem to foster a community of engagement for the future. I do dream about a day I can dedicate more time to this but it seems pretty far away at this point. I have saved your article on CMC to work on it this week and am looking forward to it!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94