I thought I knew about marketing

in #marketing5 years ago

I thought I knew marketing! Key word there is THOUGHT.

Now, I've been a successful salesman for quite some time. I won my first sales award at 14 for selling magazine subscriptions. After a career in the US Navy, I went on to be the VP of Business development for a small company where I helped grow annual sales from around $1mm to over $27mm in 7 years. Now, I'm an independent manufacturer's rep for an out door/fishing apparel company where last year, I grew sales in my territory over 130%!

And so I brought the skills learned in those spaces to my online business efforts. I should kill it right? Truth be told, while I have made some money, I could see that I was not on the path to the big money I have seen others bring in.

So, I reached out to my friends Mike and Robyn at the #ProfitPaltform . I soon learned that what I had been doing on line was not marketing at all! Turns out all I was really doing was PROMOTING (read spamming). For that, I apologize!

I won't say that all the time, effort and money I spent on promoting my offer's was in vain as nothing we do and learn from is a waste. I will say that had I learned even the most basic formula/skills when I started, there would be a lot more money in my pocket now!

If you are struggling with your online business, or if it is just not taking off like you thought it would, take heart, there is help! See where I came to see the light and turn the tide on my online business.

https://marketingformula.mykajabi.com/marketing-formula-capt-michael-glass

Sort:  

Congratulations @rmichaelglass! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rmglass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56