Exploring Steemit - Selecting target audience

in #marketing7 years ago (edited)

My first day at steemit went fab. Got few comments, likes and replies. All in all, a productive day. Being a curious person, I want to have an over-view of the platform.

From a marketer's perspective, If I understand what this community likes to hear and what kind of personalities are most liked ones, then I can basically hack my content generation process.

So here is some simple stats that I've been working out since last few minutes.

Which category is earning the most?

To know this right click on top-right corner of steemit webapp and click on explore to get a list of all trending tags.
Tags like Life, steemit, steem, photography seem to top the list in terms of payout.

After getting star-struck by the earning stats of photography tag, I uploaded another post where I'm badly trying to critique a painting I had made for time pass.
Results : 1 view, 1 upvote after 4 hours.

Learning : Don't get yourselves fooled by these payout number. These popular tags have a lot of users and you have to post a lot to get noticed (Too much dumb work). People who have more followers are now earning money just by uploading selfies (Gosh! Why 2017)

Any smart way of targeting community segment?

I'm a lazy person who likes to do thing quick and easy (People call it smart way). For that I copied the tags data pasted it in google sheet and tried to compute a few ratios.
One of them is (Number of Posts/Payouts) . Check screenshot

top_tags.png

What do these numbers tell us?
a) Steemit is a close knit community of crypto-currency people
b) Witnesses are actually making constant money by mining content of the platform
c) People like charlefuchs have gone a step forward in building a brand for themselves from start.
d) I should learn more about this tech to get hold of the things that are going around here.

I'll keep on updating my Steemit exploration. This was just my 1st day, I'll get my hands dirty with code from tomorrow. Till then, have an awesome day. I'm going to put some random tags on this post, just to test my hypothesis.

Thank You
Thorium

Sort:  

Nice that you have joined this awesome community! I am here just to let you know that beginning is very hard, but do not stop! Keep steeming! If you need any help, I am more than glad to help you out.

Thank you for the supportive words @keyss. I just want to know the steps of becoming a witness. I have an ubuntu system which I want to use for witnessing/mining.

If you have any information on that, please share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62