You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's talk: Can our society be happy again?

in #marlians5 years ago (edited)

I think some of the worst problems we have with society today are due to the fact that we now have certifiably insane people walking around all over the place, when we used to put those who were insane and represented a danger to the community into homes where they could be cared for, rather than remaining a threat to everyone else. This in itself, IMO, is insane.

I think the ending of putting dangerously insane people away was pushed for by Big Pharma. They convinced the "authorities" that their drugs could keep the insane safe to mingle with regular people. Which was all well and good until the German pilot intentionally flew a plane full of innocent passengers into the Alps. He was on an anti-depressive that has the side effect of producing suicidal thoughts.

You'd think a big demand for banning anyone from piloting an aircraft while taking Big Pharma drugs would be in order, but as far as I know, the whole thing was swept under the rug, so we can probably expect something similar to happen at some point. This is "acceptable" to those running things. So some people die, big deal, they must think. But there isn't a fraction of an ounce of concern for people anymore.

Sort:  

One of the hardest parts about this is healthcare and who is going to pay for all of this. Without proper coverage and treatment for everyone, this will continue to be an issue. The reason most of the facilities were closed down were due to improper treatment for the patients. The other being over population. We can't lock everyone up. The choices in a lot of cases is either lock them up or drug them. Speaking as someone on the cusp...I don't want either. Yet daily life outside, working and being around people really is too much. Yet I have to do it.

Mental health education does need to be addressed. I am admittedly suicidal and yes I take antidepressants. It is far worse when I am not on medication and I do think the medication can enhance that feeling. Since the medication either enhances or depresses certain receptors it changes the feelings you have buy increasing or decreasing the 'feeling'. It doesn't create suicidal thoughts. I am only putting this out there because there are many that feel it creates the suicidal feeling and thought. It doesn't, it enhances or is depressed from what the person is already feeling. I don't want to die. Personally, I want to live, explore, grow. Yet when that thought or feeling comes in, it is debilitating. I know it will pass, but the urges and feelings that go with it are unbearable.

LOL, I keep going off on a tangent that should be a post of its own.

Still great points.

I understand, @tryskele. I really do. Having been there, I know what you are saying — you want to live and continue to build your life, but depression is so debilitating at times. Thank you for telling it like it is, and sharing your story.

I will share with you some of the things that helped me, if you like. But at any rate, I’m so glad you have meds that work pretty well. Please keep taking them, and please do all you can to keep moving, growing, and contributing the gift of yourself that you bring to this world. There is no one else who can be you.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for weighing in with your thoughts, @free-reign. Now I have little assignment for you. Go search for information on positive things being done for mental health today. Then tell someone about it. Talk about the good. 😊

Do we need to do better at managing the clinically insane, and make sure we don’t let suicidal pilots get in a plane? Absolutely. What you’ve described is horrible and inexcusable. It should never have happened.

But guess what. There are something like 44,000 flights per day worldwide. That’s how many times each day it goes well and perfectly mentally healthy men and women transport us where we want to go. I’m just saying that to focus on the one time it went badly gives disproportionate airtime to the bad. That is the point of this article.

Thanks so much for reading, and sharing your thoughts. And for letting me use your example as an illustration. 😊

Spread some positivity. You got this.

I was addressing the question in your title, but I have written a post for dropintheocean today that addresses my view on this further, as an answer to your reply. It's at the top of my blog if you'd like to read it, The title is "Can Right Coexist With Wrong?" :)

Oh I will read it! I look forward to hearing more on your perspective.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66991.04
ETH 3101.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74