(Opinion Piece) American Population Below Replacement Rates

in #marriage5 years ago (edited)

https://www.nbcnews.com/health/womens-health/americans-aren-t-making-enough-babies-replace-ourselves-n956931

I would like to offer my own opinion on this matter. Women are indeed delaying having children, but men are too.

Looking at it from my side of the fence, as a young man, I postulate that it’s also because of how openly misandrist society generally is against men. Here is just one of many articles that address this issue; it will also allow me to more clearly define my own interpretation.

https://www.lifesitenews.com/news/young-men-giving-up-on-marriage-women-arent-women-anymore

Women are delaying marriage, but men are outright denying it. Between the biases in divorce courts, family courts, and law, it’s no wonder men are leaving in droves.

Divorce rates are sitting at a high 50% on the first engagement, with the number significantly rising on each subsequent attempt. I’ve seen some figures go as high as 80% or even 90% failure rate.

I happen to be one of those men who said no to marriage, but for slightly different reasons.

1.) I am an atheist, and I view marriage as a primarily religious institution that I want no part of.

2.) I view marriage as pointless, especially with the countless stories of divorced men who lost half or more of their belongings, home, kids, etc.

3.) People often say marriage is a higher commitment, but I do not believe you need to get the state involved in order to be more committed to someone.

4.) Compared to the risks, marriage does not offer enough benefits to men compared to women, thus creating a power dynamic that ultimately results in men not wanting to get married.

These are a mix of statistical and personal reasons. However, I do have a bit of a story to attach to this.

I used to get rejected quite a bit by girls in school. In fact, almost every girl I asked out rejected me outright, while they ran off with jocks and even my best friends. I was told not to judge the “fairer sex” by the standards of their grade school counterparts (though these are often the same people who judge all men by such standards, hence my writing this post). This viewpoint would be valid, I said, if I did not see the very same behaviors in grown women too!

After feminism, instead of the two sexes cooperating like they should be, now they are in direct competition with one another. Men are competing with women for jobs and opportunities, thus hampering men’s ability to be providers while simultaneously reducing the number of women who can/want to be housewives, which, finally, reduces the incentive for men to provide for said women, either because they choose not to or these career women would not allow them to.

After making a personal review of my life, and looking ahead to see what would become of me if I had continued down that path, I decided it was not worth it and lived as a urban-monk (in other words, abstinence) for 3 years now. I am at peace. While I do feel alone sometimes, it’s definitely better than the alternatives.

I will not mince words here: not all women are like that. However, it is called a cultural shift for a reason. As such, you should adapt to the changes in the way that works best for you.

What are your thoughts on this? Did I get anything wrong? Do you agree? Comment below.

Sort:  

Hello @angry-unicorn! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @angry-unicorn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65941.77
ETH 3015.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75