You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The perks and downsides of being a woman in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

in #martialarts6 years ago

I got my ass kicked by women quite a bit already as some here in Thailand are pretty dame good. (at other places as well obviously)

With women who are also beginners I tend to go a bit slower but I do that with pretty much everyone when I realize they are in their first week or so to let them try things and I feel like I am learning more as well this way as I put myself in tougher situations but I got a better shot to get out as if a blue belt is mounting me.

" Guys have it a lot harder in this sense: if you are getting your butt kicked by everyone consistently, there is no other side to it, you just suck (and need to get better ASAP)."

I would like to answer this with been there, done that but I am still there :-)

Sort:  

@flipstar, come on, man! I am sure you are just being modest. I think we all secretly think we suck, even the black belts sometimes, haha.

With women who are also beginners I tend to go a bit slower but I do that with pretty much everyone when I realize they are in their first week or so to let them try things and I feel like I am learning more as well this way as I put myself in tougher situations but I got a better shot to get out as if a blue belt is mounting me.

This is very smart, and in fact I see upper belts doing this as well when they roll with me. In this way you both benefit and learn something from the roll. The "I don't get anything from rolling with women/people who are not as good as me" mentality is just an excuse for meatheads.

I am probably still bragging as I was not a good boy the last 5 weeks or so and lazy as fuck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68846.60
ETH 3872.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66