Take Me to Paris!

in #martiawilson5 years ago (edited)

Lifelong dreams coming true...this is where I am in life right now. I have long thought that if I ever were to write my autobiography, the title would have to be Serendipity: an Off-Handed Life.

What provoked me to make that opening statement is simply that I live in the present, not planning too far in the future. It's not that I am nihilistic or existential (in a philosophical sense)----it's that I have learned to leave space in my life for surprises to happen. I won't bore you or wear down myself in the effort to explain the reasons why.

But serendipity is a close friend of mine. And serendipity struck again a couple of days ago. If you've read my post Je Suis une Francophile, you know that in a few days I will be fulfilling a lifelong dream of visiting France. While shopping for supplies for that trip, I found this in the Dollar General store:

That is the lid to a box. The box measures about 7" X 12" X 3" deep, so it's the right size for storing little things that I never can seem to put my hands on when I need them. But beyond its utility, it spoke to me loud and clear:

Some things are just meant to be yours...like this box, at this point in my life. And some things are dropped in your lap simply because the Creator of serendipity and surprises loves to show you how deeply and intimately you are loved. I thank God for that. It shows me that, as long as I have respiration, it's never too late to receive inspiration or culmination for and of my dreams. And yours.

I hope that last thought leaves you in rumination...and illumination.

Sort:  

EIghteen days, and in Paris we shall be....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66