my student hated thor

in #marvel5 years ago (edited)

“Have you watched Endgame???”

The question of the week brought up some interesting conversations. A student was especially upset at Thor’s downfall from the Infinity War defeat. He was really disappointed and thought it was a low call for laughs. He was really upset at the writers’ direction and thought it was unrealistic.

It took me a couple of days of reflection before I recalled a memory where a past JNET would have agreed that Thor was throwing a pity party.

I returned to my past uncomplicated JNET KID brain.

I attended a personal growth seminar when I was a teenager. I was one of less than half a dozen kids that had permission to attend this grown up activity. People shared their stories while a coach leader listened. Not everyone shared. Maybe a dozen. But there were nods about the room as stories resonated with them and tissue boxes were passed. There were lots of crying adults and it surprised me at how EPIC long they held on to their hurt or anger. One particular person even admitted to not talking to their parents for 17 years! SEVENTEEN YEARS!!!!

I could never get away with being angry for too long. It takes too much energy. I would get bored or miss my family from paying attention to me. I usually went silent and go out for a jog along the beach and then vibe everyone to give me space when I got home. Eventually, it felt stupid to be upset. It didn’t matter who was at fault, sorry can be said or not. Someone would eventually call the conflict officially over by making a blank slate of things. What upset? Love is messy. That’s life; that’s family. Let’s eat together and watch this movie.

I was a kid. If I was angry at life, myself, or anyone, I didn’t go on self-destruct mode. I wouldn’t go Fat Thor nor would I have thought to go on a 17 year cold war.

S: “He almost defeated Thanos in Infinity War. Why did he get so hopeless? To be comedy relief? Stupid!”

Miss JNET: “Maybe after a while, defeats wears you down and recovery times changes.”

My student was not convinced. Thor, after all, is a GOD. And he, a mere teen, had more fire to fight for his life. He knew what it felt to have Life have a go at breaking you. He thought the writers were looking for cheap laughs.

My teen mind would’ve looked at Fat Thor and agreed with my student.

Thor, maybe you could’ve gone away to clear your mind a bit and returned and a be on silent mode as you made a plan....or not. You didn’t need to go on self-destruct and get out of shape. So that you can have a story to cry about and excuse to make your life messy? That’s pretty lame.

I’m going to tell my student that he’s right that Thor was throwing a pity party. It’s what grown ups do sometimes...hold on to stinking, lame stories that hijack time and attention instead of figuring how to level up.

Hopefully, when he’s a grown up, he’ll fight to always level up over all tough situations. If not, I hope he has a good friend like the Hulk that’ll put some sense back in him if he needs help. If I’m around, I’ll remind him of how amazing he was before he got tired of standing up again after a fall.

Kids hate stagnation without knowing what it means.

Live life like fresh cookies. Don’t hold on to stale stuff.

JNET

Post 150

By the way, there was a happy ending to the person that didn’t talk to their parents for 17 years. During the seminar, the person was given the challenge to call his parents and initiate an apology to end the conflict. He invited them to the end of the seminar’s course. To everyone’s happy surprise, they came, flying quite a distance. We witnessed a family reunite and begin their process to connect and heal.

Fresh cookies!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Just saw Endgame last night. I liked fat Thor. I wish he would have pulled Quill’s awesome mix tape out at the end, and put in a Creedence tape. ;-)

I liked Fat Thor too. AND I had forgotten how SERIOUS teens can get analyzing adult behavior. I hope he enjoys rewatching it with a new perspective in the future.

Another student, 11 years old was confused why Morgan asked Happy for a cheeseburger. I explained to her that young people have different ways to express sadness. A cheeseburger was a comfort because it was her dad’s favorite food and hers. It’s a sweet way to be sad. Sadness doesn’t always have to be about tears. That’s a salty way.

Endgame was a deep movie for the kiddos I teach. The humor was very light compared to other Marvel films. It would’ve been great to hear the mixtape. Guess we will have to wait and see what MCU brings us next. They introduced time travel in the film....the Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D have been doing it and traveling in space too! Floating independently since Hydra took over...

I love Marvel ❤️

J

Posted using Partiko iOS

There are a lot of life lessons in Marvel comics and movies, at least in the good ones. I bet there will be a few panels at Comic-Con discussing Endgame and the future this summer.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JNET from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @jnetsworld! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93