You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why it's Not the Boys in the Above Picture Who Grow Up to be School Shooters

in #masculinity6 years ago

Judging by my experience in this thread, I'm probably going to be hesitant to contribute much in the future. I love having conversations with people, especially those that are open-minded and I feel that there can be a lot of constructive things to be discussed between people of sharply differing mindsets, but one major problem with Steemit that I now realize is that it's filled with yesmen and group-think. The people that tend to follow others tend to be part of a hive-mind, and I figured Steemit may be different from other social networks, but it's unfortunately not. In fact, I'd reckon it's most likely significantly worse here than other places because money is involved. People love to chase upvotes by impressing people with more money than them, I remember you saying you did the same thing with Dan years ago and so forth. Dissenting thought is dangerous, and when interacting with people who have the capabilities of completely destroying my work on the platform who also are proven to be irrational and unstable, it's terrifying.

I'm not saying you should change anything, but I'm just airing my thoughts and letting you know I may not jump in similar threads in the future, I have many experiences being targeted by people online and don't want to risk anything that can affect me monetarily given that as I stand currently Steemit is a decent chunk of my total income at the moment.

I like the stuff you do for the most part, even if I don't agree, but I may have to step back a bit going forward if things look like they may be unsafe.

Sort:  

I understand. I'll still follow you, though. I also agree with you on Steemit. It's pretty much just politics at this point. I took part in that in the beginning, but have since moved on to just saying how I feel.

It's ironic, though, since Steemit came to be at least partially due to people being sick of real world politics and whatnot.

And then the politics on Steemit are even worse.

It's unfortunate, from my many glances at varying tags on this platform, most of it seems to be counter to my thoughts and beliefs, and I would like to chime in more, but I may have to restrict myself to only engaging with smaller fish as silly as it sounds :P

I look forward to the future mega man videos at least haha

Oh, they're coming. :)

I actually have one recorded, just haven't gotten around to posting it yet.

If and when communities ever become a thing, it may be easier to find like-minded people.

But I also think that sometimes someone needs to be first mover, sort of. So, if someone makes a good case for something, people who follow the debate can see it and then chime in.

Heh, if you ever need help I've done similar stuff myself and may be able to help in some of the later portions

Very true, risk versus reward on the final point I suppose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71